Weekend Update: Cuatro de Mayo and Movie Night

It’s hard to believe another week has gone by already. This week was long and difficult at times, but I learned many important lessons and am hopeful that the coming week will be better. So, on this rainy Sunday afternoon (while I’m procrastinating on my homework) I give you my Weekend Update.

***

1.

Friday night was the biannual MSE grad/undergrad party. Since the party was held on May 4 (i.e. Cuatro de Mayo), it was decided that we would also celebrate Cinco de Mayo. The means of celebrating varied from person to person (and on your ability/willingness to grow facial hair and shave it into a creepy mustache), and in honor of the occasion my friend Elizabeth made these delicious pinata cookies (she made them without the filling). They were so cute, and in looking at the recipe probably difficult to make. Nice job Elizabeth! Overall I had a good time at the party, and really enjoyed seeing all of my friends after such a long week. My only regret is that I didn’t have my camera to take pictures of some of the awesome mustaches my male friends were sporting!

2.

On Saturday night, I decided to stay in and watch movies with my friends Elizabeth and Kayla. We shared a bottle of wine, and watched one of my favorite movies, The 500 Days of Summer. After the movie, we also may or may not have watched an episode (or three) of Jersey Shore. I had never seen that show before, but now I can understand the appeal. Basically, it’s like driving by an auto accident…you don’t want to watch but yet you can’t look away. All in all it was the perfect way to spend the evening. Thanks for watching movies with me ladies!

3.

My favorite way to spend a Sunday morning is with a cup of coffee and a book in my sun-room. The book I’m reading currently, This Life is In Your Hands, is excellent. I’m enjoying every page, and I”ll post a review when I finish it. For the java lovers reading this, the coffee I was drinking is Starbucks Blonde Roast.

4.

Arg! Homework! I’m taking a biology class this quarter (for materials scientists who don’t know biology) and I’m learning a lot. I even enjoy sitting through the lectures, which is a rare thing for me. What I don’t enjoy are the homework assignments. And not in the “oh-em-gee I am soooo over homework” kind of way, but in the “is this paper even written in English!?!?!” kind of way. I mean really, can you understand this:

That’s o.k….I don’t understand it either. After some careful study, I’ll (hopefully) understand it well enough to finish this assignment. Wish me luck!

***

I have many things to look forward to this week–namely my first visit to Wrigley Field to see the Chicago Cubs take on the Atlanta Braves. I also have a book review post coming soon! Have a great week everyone!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bhav
    May 09, 2012 @ 00:41:19

    So, is it sad that I understood 90% of the title of that Biology paper? Let me know if you need help with it.

    Reply

  2. exlibrisheather
    May 09, 2012 @ 09:12:48

    LOL. Only if it is that I (mostly) understand it now. I had to turn the assignment in on Monday and we discussed it in class yesterday. Many of the techniques that you all use in biology and biochemistry are similar to what we use, I just don’t know the lingo.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Thursday Thoughts 2.0 « Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

