Book Review: Sisterhood Everlasting

“But she knew from long-ago experience that when you were uncertain and if you were courageous enough to let her in, a real friend could do a world of good.” –Ann Brashares, Sisterhood Everlasting

Title: Sisterhood Everlasting
Author: Ann Brashares
Format: Audiobook
Reader: Angela Goethals
Publisher: Random House Audio
Publication Date: June 14, 2011
Source: My local public library
Series: The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

Synopsis:

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Ann Brashares comes the welcome return of the characters whose friendship became a touchstone for a generation. Now Tibby, Lena, Carmen, and Bridget have grown up, starting their lives on their own. And though the jeans they shared are long gone, the sisterhood is everlasting.

Despite having jobs and men that they love, each knows that something is missing: the closeness that once sustained them. Carmen is a successful actress in New York, engaged to be married, but misses her friends. Lena finds solace in her art, teaching in Rhode Island, but still thinks of Kostos and the road she didn’t take. Bridget lives with her longtime boyfriend, Eric, in San Francisco, and though a part of her wants to settle down, a bigger part can’t seem to shed her old restlessness.

Then Tibby reaches out to bridge the distance, sending the others plane tickets for a reunion that they all breathlessly await. And indeed, it will change their lives forever—but in ways that none of them could ever have expected.

As moving and life-changing as an encounter with long-lost best friends, Sisterhood Everlasting is a powerful story about growing up, losing your way, and finding the courage to create a new one.

–From the Hardcover edition

My Thoughts:

I thought I had read the entire Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, but realized a few weeks ago that Ann Brashares had published one final book last year. At first I was kind of annoyed because I remember being somewhat underwhelmed with the last “final” book in the series, Forever in Blue. Also, I feel like the publishing industry is SATURATED with series books right now (what’s wrong with a good ole fashioned stand-alone novel????), and I told myself that I wouldn’t read anymore of them this year. However, after reading the synopsis for the book and Ann Brashares’ note on Amazon.com, I decided to give it a try (at least in audio form). So much for my self-imposed boycott on series books.

Since this was the first audiobook I’ve “read,” it took a chapter or so to get used to the format and into the story. Once I did though, I have to admit I was carried away. At the onset the book, we catch up with The Septembers (who are a few months away from turning 30) and see that time has caused them to grow apart. Each character seems to poignantly feel this loss even if she can’t or won’t admit it to herself. Similarly, each seems to sense that something is off in her life, and Tibby’s invitation for a reunion seem like the perfect cure for this late 20’s funk.

At this point in the novel, there is a VERY SHOCKING plot twist. So shocking in fact that I almost fell of the treadmill while listening to it. When I examined where I was in the story, I realized I was less than 1/3 of the way through (and thus I do not want to give anymore of the plot away). What was the rest of the novel going to be about? Did I even want to keep listening??? Well, I did keep listening and I’m glad I did. The story swept me away. Seriously. I laughed, cried, and found myself looking for excuses to listen to my iPod throughout the day so I could find out what happened next (its not weird to take your iPod to the restroom right? 😉 )

With that being said, this is not a perfect novel or one that’s always easy to read (err…listen to). At times, you must “stretch your imagination” when considering the plausibility of certain situations, and some character’s storylines (namely Lena’s) are somewhat predictable. It is however beautifully written and very true-to-life. The Sisterhood is definitely all grown up now, and Ann Brashares does not shy away from discussing the difficult issues faced by many of us in our mid to late 20’s. I felt at peace once I had finished the story, and it is the best book in the series in my opinion. Finally, I thought Angela Goethals did an excellent job narrating this story.

If you’ve read and loved the other four books, or are looking for a good story about the power of friendship I would recommend checking this one out!

What Others Had To Say:

Girls Just Reading

My Review In Four Lines:

  1. Rating: 4/5 stars
  2. What I liked: watching The Septembers evolve as they experience real and sometimes difficult adult situations
  3. What I didn’t enjoy as much: Carmen’s character throughout 90% of the book (but admittedly Carmen has always been least favorite character)
  4. I would recommend this book for: fans of the Traveling Pants series

***

Note: I did not receive any compensation whatsoever for this book review.
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jonathan Odell
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 13:05:41

    I love the format of your reviews. Hope you consider doing, THE HEALING.

    Reply

  2. Jenn at Girls Just Reading
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 09:20:06

    Thanks for linking to us. 🙂 We totally agree, obviously!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

