Thursday Thoughts 3.0

Hey everyone! It’s Thursday so I’m linking up with Sarah!

***

[1]

This week has been very busy, yet it feels like I have not accomplished anything. I am frankly baffled as to how it got to be Thursday. Oh well, that just means I’m one day closer to the weekend!

[2]

Yesterday, I turned 26. It was a really great day. The weather was beautiful, and I had many birthday messages from friends and family. I even had a birthday cake, thanks to my good friend Elizabeth! Believe it or not, the cake was finished in about and hour and a half. After work, I met up with some friends at Nevins and shared a few drinks. We ended the celebrating (relatively) early because we wanted to be wide awake for the much anticipated keynote lecture in the morning (see thought #3). The celebration will continue this weekend with dinner at one of my favorite restaurants!

[3]

This morning I had the opportunity to hear Professor John Cahn’s keynote lecture at our department’s Hilliard Symposium. We studied some of his work in our phase transformation course (especially the famous Cahn-Hilliard equation), and it was pretty cool to hear this living legend in materials science speak!

[4]

I am happy to report that I was finally able to exercise 3 times in one week! This is the FIRST time since breaking my foot last year (on June 26, 2011…a date which I will not forget anytime soon) that I was able to physically accomplish this. Previously, when I attempted to rest just one day between workouts my foot and ankle would swell. It was such a good feeling to FINALLY get in 3 workouts in one week.

[5]

It’s springtime and you know what that means…allergies!!!  Or at least it does for me this year. I had seasonal allergies when I was younger but thought I had outgrown them into adulthood. However, they have returned with a vengeance this year. In looking at the pollen counts, I discovered that the grass count was high which would explain my symptoms. It will shock my mother to hear that I’m actually considering  buying some allergy medicine…or maybe I’ll just wait until the grass count goes down 😉

***

That’s all for now. Hope everyone is having a great Thursday!

Leave a Reply

