Thursday Thoughts 4.0

Hey everyone! It’s Thursday so I’m linking up with Sarah!

***

[1]

Monday night I went to my first “Dinner with Strangers” event hosted by a graduate student women’s group at my university. These events are a great way to meet a very diverse group of women, and try out new restaurants around the city. I had previously sort of avoided these types of networking events where I don’t know anyone, but I’ve been trying to “expand my horizons” so I chose this event where (in theory) everyone is a stranger. The meal I was invited to attend was held on held Monday night at Siam Paragon. Our group of “strangers” consisted of six women from vastly different field of study, covering everything from materials science to religious studies. We had really nice dinner conversations about the work we do, our thoughts on undergraduates, and the state of the economy with regards to job prospects for Ph.D’s. Overall, I had a really great time and ate some delicious sushi. I will definitely be signing up for more of these events in the future.

[2]

Every memorial day weekend, our university holds an outdoor music festival called Dillo Day. It lasts the entire day, and is a great way to start the long weekend. Last year, I had a really great time and I’m sure this year will be no exception. The lineup this year includes Cold War Kids, Reel Big Fish, and Big Boi to name a few. Additionally, my friend Beth over at Science and Cupcakes is having a barbeque during the festivities which is sure to be fun (and super delicious). The only thing I hope is not repeated this year: mud. Last year the fields were SO MUDDY, and my jeans were never the same. The only bright spot is I know which pair I’m wearing this year…

[3]

Next week is the last week of classes. Ever. I am so excited about that. Of course, after classes are over the reality that quals are approaching will REALLY set in. November is getting closer every day… :/

[4]

I’d like to wish a belated Happy Wedding Anniversary to my parents. As of May 22, these crazy kids have been married for 30 years. Congratulations Mom and Dad! I love you both so much!

Oahu, 2010

***

That’s all for now. I hope everyone has a great memorial day weekend!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    May 24, 2012 @ 19:36:49

    I love the idea of Dinners with Strangers! While I would probably be really nervous to sign up for one, the concept is awesome!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Thursday Thoughts 5.0 « Ex Libris

Leave a comment