Top Ten Books I Feel As Though Everyone Has Read But Me

Happy Tuesday Everyone! I’m in the middle of a busy week here, but I thought I’d participate in the “Top Ten Tuesday” link-up hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

***

The theme for today is “Top Ten Rewind” (i.e. pick any past Top Ten list topic), so I chose to list books I feel like everyone has read but me. This is a topic that is near and dear to my heart, and I find myself thinking this ALL the time as I peruse other bloggers’ reviews and bookshelves. I’m pretty sure there are more than ten books I feel this way about, but these are the ones at the forefront of my mind today. So without further ado…

Top Ten Books I Feel As Though Everyone Has Read But Me:

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I know guys…pretty much every high school student read this book but me. Somehow in the weird combination of classes that I took (I blame YOU Brit Lit) I just missed out on it. This classic novel was even recalled to my attention in the Gilmore Girls episode “I Solemnly Swear” (when Lorelai tells Sookie that she is Joe’s Daisy), and I have wanted to read it ever since. I even own a copy, but still haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Fail.

2. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

Same story as number 1 (minus the Gilmore Girls and owning a copy parts). Both of these books are even on the BBC’s “The Big Read” list. Fail, fail, fail.

3. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

I loved A Thousand Splendid Suns, and I now own a copy of this book! Hopefully it will get read soon…

4. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

I really hate it when people read part of a book or series and claim to have read “the whole thing.” So, I’m ready to admit it: I haven’t read all of the books in The Chronicles of Narnia series. I’ve read The Magicians Nephew, and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe…but that’s it.

5. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

I’ve wanted to read this book for a really long time. Again, I own a copy..and hope to read it sooner rather than later.

6. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

This book has been on my “to-read” list for a REALLY long time now. My parents (hey mom and dad!) bought me a copy for Easter this year. I REALLY want to read this one soon too.

7. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Ah man…I’m really starting to sense a pattern here. I own a copy of both the book AND the movie. Let’s all say it together now…FAIL.

8. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Oh, ya know…it only has 1,418 reviews on Amazon.com. No big deal.

9. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

O.k. this one only has 1,023 reviews on Amazon.com.

10. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkein

Yes I can admit it. I’m one of those people who saw all the movies and never read any of the books (although I own the whole trilogy). Uber fail.

***

Are there any books you haven’t read that you feel like everyone else has???

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassie
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 10:06:31

    Oh my gosh read The Book Thief – you will love it. I haven’t read Kite Runner everywhere but there are always ten copies in my used bookstore so I know everyone else has. BLEH.

    Reply

  2. Streetlight Reader
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 13:00:13

    You definitely have to read The Book Thief! It’s an amazing book! I haven’t read A Thousand Splendid Suns either, but it’s on my to-read list for a book challenge I’m participating in! As for The Great Gatsby, maybe you can read it before the movie comes out? I’m planning on reading it again because I didn’t really like it the first time I read it in in High School.

    Reply

  3. barefoot_med_student
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 14:45:22

    Of your list, I’ve only read the Kite Runner and The Help, both books I would suggest fiercely – they are wonderful.

    I’d love for you to check out my Top Ten Freebie πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. tinalinatime
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 15:49:00

    Oh my gosh I want to read The Night Circus soo bad! Its definitely on my summer reading list. You should read The Great Gatsby this summer since the new movie comes out in December πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Yare
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 18:21:11

    oh gosh! I haven’t read these either! I’ve only read The Chronicles of Narnia πŸ˜›
    my ttt; http://booknookgirl.blogspot.com/2012/06/top-ten-tuesday-any-topic.html

    Reply

  6. thelittleblackraincloudblog
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 19:06:34

    I’ve read part of your list & finally broke down and bought a copy of The Great Gatsby a month or so ago when I seen in on sale…still haven’t read it. Hopefully soon! Water for Elephants is one of my favorite books…so good! The Help was excellent too & the movie was pretty much dead on, which you don’t see very often.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jun 05, 2012 @ 20:27:15

      I’m somewhat pleasantly surprised by how many people seem to not have read Gatsby. I was sort of ashamed to admit it actually…well we should at least try to read it before the movie comes out!

      Reply

  7. Tanya Patrice
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 19:27:53

    Ooh I feel the same way about a few of these, like The Book Thief – though I must admit to reading Henrietta Lacks – loved it – and The Night Circus – awesome too!

    Reply

  8. bookmaven623
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 03:03:49

    I loved the Night Circus and Of Mice and Men by Steinbeck is one of his best. Although I do prefer his East of Eden. I think you’d enjoy either of those books. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. Angela @ AJ Arndt Books Blog
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 16:09:59

    Love your list. And I love the Gilmore Girls too πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR list « Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

