Thursday Thoughts 6.0

I’m back after missing the link up with Sarah last week! So, I’ve included two weeks worth of thoughts, but I’ll try to keep the list brief-ish…

***

[1]

Two weeks ago, I attended the Second Glass’s Wine Riot event with some of my friends. For 4 hours and $60, I had the opportunity to taste wines from all over the world, take short wine tasting classes, and eat lots and lots of delicious cheese. Oh yea there was also a photobooth…

These bottles are made of real glass, and are much heavier than they look…

This was the second wine riot I have attended, and I think the event was better this year than the last. For starters, there was more wine this year (which also made each individual station less crowded). Also, the wineries had more fun freebies, and there was a temporary tattoo station! All in all, it was a great night!

[2]

Last Tuesday I helped put on “No Skillz” for the graduate students in my department, which was part of my duties as Treasurer for our graduate student association. Previously, “No Skillz” had been a highly anticipated event every year in our department, but for various reasons it had not been held the past several years. Thus, the 2011-2012 board decided to bring it back! In a nutshell, “No Skillz” is like an elementary school field day with lots of semi-silly events that do not really require any particular skill. We had 8 teams (of two people each) participate in the 5 events we prepared this year: 1) 3-legged race + marshmallow chopstick transfer, 2) Dizzy bat, 3) Cubic Crystal Challenge (I had to have one nerdy materials science event in there), 4) Saran wrap worm race, and 5) Egg Toss. Everyone had a really great time, and most people even showed up to compete in costume! It was my last event to help plan as a board member, and I think it was a great way to close out this academic year.

[3]

Monday officially marked the beginning of summer for me since I was finally finished with all my school work and my research group presentation. In theory, I am done with classwork FOREVER. I AM SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I realize that somewhere along the way I’ll probably have to take another class for “professional development” and the like, but for now I’m just riding high on the idea that I won’t have to take any more classes for my Ph.D.!

[4]

Last night, I attended the quarterly meeting of Binding Affinity, the popular science book club I am a member of. Our book for this quarter was Incognito: The Secret Lives of the Brain by David Eagleman.

I hadn’t read any popular neuroscience books before this, so it was very eye opening for me. However, there are two neuroscientists in our group and other people who have read other neuroscience books before, so they had a different view of the material than me. It was really interesting for me to listen to them debate the merits of this book versus other popular neuroscience books, and to see how the material in this book did or did not relate to the neuroscientists’ daily research. After the meeting, I left with a much different perspective of the material (and just a larger context for it in general), which is one reason I love going to this book club. I will post a review soon, which will include the book club members thoughts (as I remember them…lol).

[5]

“I see miles and miles of Texas”…almost. My annual visit to Texas is getting SO close (less than one week now)! I love seeing all my friends in Texas, and after the past month I’ve had…well let’s just say I really need the break. On this trip I will also get to visit my sister in Louisiana. I don’t get to see her very much anymore, so this visit is LONG overdue. One last thing I am determined to do on my vacation is to finally buy a *real* pair of these:

***

That’s all for now. Have a great weekend everyone!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abbey
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 11:07:58

    Dude. Can I just have the cheese from your wine trip? Sounds like lots of fun. 🙂 Also, congrats on the no-more-classes. Woooooo!

    Reply

  2. Riana
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 15:16:45

    Congrats on your PhD! That wine tasting event sounds like a lot of fun and the picture with your friends is cute.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 15:52:35

    Woohoo for a ton of wine! Also, No Skillz sounds fun, but what’s a saran wrap worm race?! Sounds dirty and hilarious at the same time!

    Can’t wait to read your review! And where in TX will you be? Holla if you’re around Waco!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jun 14, 2012 @ 16:43:14

      LOL. We wrapped the “racers” from head-to-toe in saran wrap and they had to roll to the finish line. It was hilarious! I’ll be in Houston mostly while I’m in TX…I think that’s like 3-4ish hours away from Waco 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

