Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR list

Happy Tuesday Everyone! I’m leaving for T-E-X-A-S this afternoon, but I thought I’d participate in the “Top Ten Tuesday” link-up hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

***

The theme for today is “Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List,” so today I’ll be sharing the books I plan to read this summer. Admittedly, many of these books probably won’t be read until later in the year, but my mother always encouraged me to “dream big” so here goes…

Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR list:

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Yup. This is now the third time (the previous two being on another Top Ten List and my Summer Bucket List) I’ve mentioned this book in the past month. It will get read this summer. If it’s the last thing I do.

2. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

This book was also featured on my summer bucket list.

3. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson

Flavorwire has concisely summed up my initial feelings about this book

“Actually, in fairness, there’s nothing especially wrong with this. It’s just that if we see one more disheveled businessman reading it avidly on the subway, his face lit with the glow of hope that maybe just a little Jobsian stardust might somehow sprinkle onto his next start-up idea, we’ll dissolve into a puddle of existential despair once and for all.”

However, I have heard good things about this book, and I’ve enjoyed reading  Isaacson’s other books. Plus, I like to be able to talk about the latest and greatest books with everyone else…so what the heck, I’ll jump on the bandwagon too.

4. The Alchemy of Air by Thomas Hager

I recently borrowed a copy of this from Beth over at Science and Cupcakes. I’m excited to read it!

5. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Everyone I know who has read this book has loved it. I own a copy and can’t wait to dig into it.

6. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

This book has been on my “to-read” list for a REALLY long time now. I also would really like to watch the movie (which I own).

7. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

See number 6.

8. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt

A non-fiction book that reads like fiction? Yes please.

9. The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

I’ve wanted to read his books for a long time, but just haven’t gotten around to it yet.  This book, his latest, has been getting rave reviews on Goodreads…so I hope to pick up/borrow a copy of it soon!

10. Bossypants by Tina Fey

This book probably deserved an honorable mention on the “Top Ten Books Everyone Has Read But Me” list. I hear it’s good, so I’ll do my best to buy/beg/borrow a copy of it!

***

What’s on your summer “to-read” list?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassie
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 10:08:30

    I like how diverse your list is. You have some fun ones, some classics, some daunting books (Crime and Punishment, eeeee!!!) and some hilarious ones. You’re going to have a great time reading in my opinion. 🙂 Have a good trip as well.

    Reply

  2. Lucy
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 11:20:27

    I’m listening to the Bossypants audiobook now – it’s highly entertaining. And The Help is wonderful, and it’s a rare case where the movie is also good! Looks like you are in for a great summer of reading. Enjoy all the books on your list & your travels!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jun 19, 2012 @ 12:16:54

      I’m glad to hear you like the audiobook version! I was thinking of checking out the audio version from the library because the wait list for the print version is SO long.

      Reply

  3. tinalinatime
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 15:42:28

    Enjoy The Help! It was fabulous! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Amy
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 16:45:14

    Go Crime and Punishment! You will not regret this one.

    Reply

  5. Yare @Book Nook Girl
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 18:02:46

    ooh I want to read Water for Elephants too! 🙂
    My Top Ten Tuesday: http://booknookgirl.blogspot.com/2012/06/top-ten-tuesday-summer-to-be-read.html

    Reply

  6. bookmaven623
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 10:44:06

    Hi, I just nominated you for the Versatile blog Award! Come accept your prize on my blog. 🙂 And I have two TBR lists on my blog if you want to check it out.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: My Summer TBR list–How did I do? « Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

