Thursday Thoughts 7.0

Hello everyone! I’m on vacay in Texas/Louisiana, and I’m having a great time so far! Today I thought I’d share some thoughts on my week/vacation so far. Today, as with (almost) every other Thursday, I’m linking up with Sarah.

***

[1]

On my way out of town on Tuesday I learned a very important lesson: always print out your boarding pass for your flight AT HOME if at all possible. I usually do this when I’m leaving town, but this time I just forgot. When I got off the train at Midway airport it was immediately clear to me that something was not quite right. I saw a long line near security, and didn’t realize until I was on my way up to the lobby that that line led to a Southwest Kiosk. When I got up to the main lobby of Midway, I saw barely organized chaos. I have never ever seen so many people in that airport lobby in my life. I’ve been present during some pretty high congestion times too (Friday afternoons, Spring Break, Christmas Eve/Day during a massive Chicago snowstorm etc..), but nothing compared to this particular Tuesday afternoon. It turns out that the Southwest computer system was down and they were manually checking every single person in. I got in the line to get a boarding pass (not check a bag) and I waited for nearly two hours. My flight was at 5:50 pm and I entered the security line at 5:35 pm. By the time I made it out of the security line it was 5:45 pm. I ran alllllllll the way to B14 (yes I was THAT person running through the airport) and made it to the gate JUST as they were closing the door. Luckily theyย  took pity on me and reopened the door. I was THE LAST person to make it on the plane. Whew! I was so happy to make that flight, and an extra big thank you to the ground crew who reopened the door for me. But take it from me–print it off your boarding pass at home. Trust me. Just do it.

[2]

After the boarding pass disaster and the run through the airport, my flight was pretty uneventful. Later, I met up with my friend Philip for drinks at The Swamp Shack in Kemah. I had never been to there before, and it was a pretty cool place. Philip and I shared “coon balls” (not really sure what’s actually in these but they were pretty delicious) for an appetizer, and I had a margarita. Everything was very reasonably priced (then again everything is reasonably priced when you aren’t paying Chicago prices), and the staff was very friendly. I’d definitely go back there if I ever had a reason to again! It was also really great to see Philip, who has been my friend for five years now. I didn’t take any pictures (b0o), but it was really great to catch up!

[3]

I AM IN LOVE…with my new cowboy boots. Yesterday, I made a trip to Cavender’s Boot City and bought myself these beauties:

You think I could have a career as a boot model?

I’ll admit they were a bit pricey, but I have been wanting a nice pair for a really long time. They are also very comfortable! I’ve pretty much been wearing them non-stop ever since I got them. ๐Ÿ™‚

[4]

After buying the boots, I got to eat at La Brisa (I always go to the Bacliff location), my favorite Tex Mex restaurant in Houston. I was planning on taking some pictures of my delicious meal, but it was SO GOOD yesterday that I forgot all about it. The salsa, the chili gravy on the enchiladas, the delicious margarita…oh man my mouth is watering just remembering it!

[5]

After La Brisa, Jason and I headed to Louisiana to see my sister Jen. Well, Jason had a legitimate work-related reason for coming, but I am mainly here to see my dearest Jenny (yes Jen, I really did just call you Jenny on my blog! :P). When we finally go to The Shreve (aka Shreveport), we headed to a local eatery called Zocolo. This was a really nice, calm place, and the wait staff was very friendly. For dinner, I had a garlic shrimp pasta dish (with a nice glass of wine), and it was delicious! Jen and I also split an awesome piece of peanut butter pie for dessert. After dinner, we headed back to Jen’s apartment and hung out for the rest of the night.

“You mean we have to act like we like each other?” -J. Arnold


We finally got it right after about 12312312 tries.

It was so nice to have some time with Jen. We have always been close, and were even roomies in college. I don’t get to see her nearly as often as I’d like, so this was a MUCH needed visit. Thanks for letting me crash Jenny, and thanks for letting me drink your coffee. ๐Ÿ™‚

***

That’s all for now. Have a great weekend everyone!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abbey
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 11:12:48

    Looks like a great trip so far! Airports always make me so nervous. At least until I’m there waiting for my gate to open. I’ve been the girl running through the airport before and it is NOT a fun activity.

    Also, thanks for the tips on my car! Unfortunately, they’re the same things my dad already told me to check. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I think she’s probably fine. He says that sometimes when you get to certain mileage, the light just turns on. Well, Betsy is approaching 200,000, so she’s quite the old lady. I hope it has to do with that and not something actually wrong. I’m turning into a bit of a car-hypochondriac and think every little bump is the equivalent of car cancer. ha.

    Reply

  2. Sar
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 11:45:35

    Love your boots! So cute. I have a pair of brown boots that I looooove (and make me feel oddly Texan), plus they have a heel on them but are comfortable so I feel so tall when I wear them!

    Happy Thursday, Heather!

    Reply

  3. kculver23
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 14:47:52

    Nice kicking shoes!

    Reply

  4. Beth
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 23:22:23

    When I left from Midway, the security line was INSANE, too, and I had a similar dramatically-running-through-the-airport-moment. Even thought it’s stressful at first, it’s kind of a badass feeling to be the last person when they close the door.

    Sounds like an awesome trip! Love the boots. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Thursday Thoughts 8.0 « Ex Libris
  6. Trackback: Weekend Update: A Trip Home! « Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

