Thursday Thoughts 8.0

Hey there! It’s Thursday, and today I’m linking up with Sarah.

***

[1]

I’m sure I sound like a broken record here but it is going to be h-o-t in Chicago today. We are in a heat advisory (as is most of the country I know), and are expected to hit around 97 degrees today. To those of you dealing with triple digit temperatures today (and I do truly pity you) that may not sound so bad, but I would also venture to guess that most of you have central AC in your place of residence where as I (and many of my fellow Chicagoans) do not. I do have one window AC unit in my bedroom which I am SO GRATEFUL FOR, but the rest of  my apartment is just boiling hot. It’s days like these where I go to work JUST so I can sit i the AC for awhile.

[2]

In the midst of this heat wave I am also in the process of packing to move into a new apartment. I actually stayed home yesterday and packed because the temperatures were quite a bit cooler than what was forecast for today. The move (which is happening on Sunday) is going to be a little bit tricky logistically, but luckily I have several great friends who are going to help me do it!

[3]

The rest of my vacation last week was AWESOME and I didn’t want to come home (especially to this heat wave…lame…). After I came back from Louisiana, I continued making the rounds and seeing friends I hadn’t seen in about a year. Highlights: a trip to Boondoggles pub for pizza and a beer (although there was something wrong with the Shiner keg that night so I didn’t get to enjoy that 😦 ), seeing the movie That’s My Boy (it was a lot funnier than I thought it would be), and eating at La Brisa again (as I mentioned in last week’s post I love that place SO much). Overall it was a great trip, and gave me a MUCH needed break from Chicago.

[4]

Monday marked the one year anniversary of breaking my foot, and the beginning of my (very very) long recovery process. I had to use crutches (although I was non-weight bearing for only a few weeks) for two months, and then walked around in the boot cast for next 4ish months. Although the recovery process was long and difficult at times, I also found it very eye-opening. I realized just how handicapped inaccessible our public facilities really are (have you ever tried to open those heavy school/mall/restaurant doors on crutches), and how kind people really can be. I had so many people offer to hold doors for me, carry my stuff when needed, and drive me to wherever I needed to go. Looking back, I remember there were dark times during the recovery process where I just stayed home (and felt sorry for myself) because the thought of crunching down two flights of stairs (and then back up on the return trip) was unbearable. I also remember how difficult it was to use public transportation because many CTA stops are not handicapped accessible. However, I also remember moments like this:

I mean how many opportunities does one have in life to have a “real” peg leg?!

And like this:

I am the champion of chair dancing

…and then I remember how much fun my boot cast could make an evening. Your life is what you make of it. I’m really glad I didn’t just stay home.

[5]

I ran across The Color Challenge this week. Apparently, 1 in 12 men and 1 in 255 women are color blind, and this test allows you to see how you match up! In this online application, you arrange color tiles “in order” (the first and last tiles are set in place). At the conclusion of the test, a score is awarded from 0-99 which is an indicator of how well you really see colors. A score of 0 is perfect while a score of 99 indicates you are probably color blind. I scored a 4! Overall, I thought this was a really neat application, and my friends and I had fun yesterday taking the test and comparing our scores. Take the test and let me know how you score!

***

That’s all for now. Have a great weekend everyone!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abbey
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 11:08:20

    Yikes! I hope it cools down for moving day! You’re right that we’re lucky to have AC. I don’t know how I’d survive without it! Probably just be naked all the time… ha. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Katie
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 13:30:56

    I hope it cools down a bit so you can finish your packing and moving without boiling hot temps! It is in the high 90s here too and we are just trying to do any kind of inside activity we can. Or trying to be in a pool/ocean. The heat is just too much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

