Thursday Thoughts 9.0

Hey remember me? I’m still alive and well! The past week has been BUSY and H-O-T. Since today is Thursday I’m linking up with Sarah.

***

[1]

O.k. o.k. I know I keep complaining about it, but I’m going to say it again…IT’S HOT. One of the reasons I came to graduate school “up north” was to avoid the sweltering Texas summers that I was oh-so-not fond of. And it did get hot last summer…but never this hot or for this long. It’s been above 90 degrees every day for about a week, and now we are in an “excessive heat warning” until Friday. As I mentioned in last week’s post, most Chicagoan’s don’t have central air conditioning (myself included). So, when we have 100+ degree heat indexes for days on end…well it’s kind of a big deal. It looks like it might get down to the 80’s this weekend…right now that sounds heavenly!

[2]

Sunday was the big move to my new place, and it was quite the day. Not only was it REALLY hot, but I also could not pick up the key to the new place until 3 pm (on Sunday) and I had to be out of the old place by 8 am Monday morning. Yikes! Luckily, I had 5 very awesome friends who braved the heat to help me move from my un-airconditioned second floor walk-up to my new un-airconditioned third floor  walk-up. I am truly blessed to have such great people in my life. After all the stuff was in the new place, I served my friends Lou Malnati’s pizza and beer (plus my friend Sarah brought Klondike bars which were really awesome). It was a long, hot (and sometimes stressful) day, and I am really glad to finally put this move behind me. Now I can begin the next phase of my life. 🙂

[3]

…And of course after the move there is unpacking. Groan. Especially in this heat. This is basically the state of my apartment (or at least as it was when I took these pictures on Monday). First, there is the kitchen:

I’m pretty sure Martha Stewart is jealous of my organizational skills

Then, you can make your way down the hallway…

Watch your step!

…to the living room…

Yikes!

…to sit down.

I hope you don’t need a lot of leg room!

So far, the unpacking process has consisted of me slaving away in the heat until I just can’t take it anymore…and then I go hang out in my bedroom for awhile (where my window AC unit is). Yesterday, I declared victory on my kitchen. Yay! I can eat now! This evening I hope to tackle the bathroom.

[4]

I had a great Fourth of July yesterday. I spent the morning tackling the kitchen (as mentioned above), and then went to a potluck party held by some of my friends in the evening. We ate lots of delicious food (I’m pretty sure I ate my weight in guacomole), and watched Independence Day (i.e. ID4). After the movie, we walked to the lake for the Evanston fireworks display. All in all, it was a really great day!

[5]

I’ll admit it…I’ve been really REALLY bad about posting book reviews lately. I think my last book review might have been in May(?), so my hope is to change that this week. I figure by putting it out there on my blog, it’s much more likely to actually happen!

***

That’s all for now. Have a great weekend everyone!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jason
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 12:13:50

    and still not a whisper of Thunder Soul 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

