Top Ten Books I Just HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Bookshelf

Hey there! It’s Tuesday, and as usual I’m participating in the “Top Ten Tuesday” link-up hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

***

Today is a “Top Ten Freebie”, so I chose the topic “Top Ten Books I just HAD to buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Bookshelf.” Featured today are books I own and do genuinely want to read, but just haven’t found the time yet (for whatever reason). I know I will be getting to some of these books soon (like number 1 on my list), and I hope to get to the others sooner rather than later!

Top Ten Books I Just HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Bookshelf:

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

This book has been on every Top Ten list I’ve made this summer, and it is the next book on my TBR list. After I finish the Steve Jobs biography (and I’m so close!) I will move onto this one.

2. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien

Talk about a dated purchase…I bought these beauties at Borders (and not at the going out of business sale). I really do want to read this trilogy…just haven’t gotten around to it. Umm oops?

3. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

The hype for David Mitchell’s books over the past decade has really made want to read one, and so I bought this book (which is on the BBC’s “The Big Read” list) with every intention of reading it soon. Sigh. That has not happened. Honorable mention for this spot on the list? His other recent book The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, which I also own and also have not read.

4. The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas

Have you ever been through Barnes and Noble when they were having one of their Classics sales? Yikes. In one of these sales alone I spent like $60. I picked up this massive tome at one such sale, and was very excited to read it (having already read The Count of Monte Cristo). I even had grand plans to read the whole d’Artagnan Romances trilogy. Whoopsie.

5. The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper

I first read about this book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie series, and also saw the movie (with Daniel Day-Lewis) a few years ago. Like the number 4 spot on this list, I had grand plans to read the entire Leatherstocking Tales series…but haven’t even cracked the cover of this one yet.

6. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

Somehow I escaped high school without reading this classic, and I’ve only seen bits and pieces of the movie (with Demi Moore). I bought my copy at the infamous Barnes and Noble Classics sale mentioned above.

7. Persuasion by Jane Austen

I bought this book because it was the only Jane Austen novel I had yet to read. Yet it still hasn’t gotten read… šŸ˜¦

8. The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

I actually own a copy of The Ultimate Hitchhikers Guide, which includes all 5 books.

9. Napoleon’s Buttons by Penny Le Couteur and Jay Burreson

I heard about this book in an introductory materials science class that I took as an undergraduate in electrical engineering. My professor would tell us the things he was reading in this book (he was reading it in his spare time that semester), and it was one of the things that initially got me interested in this field. I always meant to read it, and (like all the other books on this list) now even own a copy of it.

10. Middlemarch by George Eliot

A great masterpiece (so I’m told) of English fiction that I own and have not yet read.

***

Are there any books you rushed out to buy but haven’t read yet?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Streetlight Reader
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 14:56:04

    I read the same Great Gatsby edition in High School. Also Persuasion is a cute story. It’s Austen’s shortest work I think. I haven’t read The Three Musketeers, but I read The Man In The Iron Mask and I enjoyed it a lot. Hope you get to read some of these books soon šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. tinalinatime
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 15:16:37

    Ohhh I haven’t read some of these either so don’t feel bad! Persuasion is such a wonderful read I say that should be your next pick!

    Reply

  3. Angela @ AJ Arndt Books Blog
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 16:39:39

    I would love to borrow your copy of Steve Jobs šŸ™‚ Great list!

    Reply

  4. Tanya Patrice
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 17:12:25

    Oh boy – I haven’t read any of these either, but a few are on the – one day I hope to read it – list.

    Reply

  5. Alex
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 03:54:20

    If I took all the books of my shelves that fitted into this category the shelves would then be empty enough to go out about buy another couple of hundred. I am terrible at buying books that I want to read desperately and then taking books out from the library that are not so urgent that I have to have my own copy, but which have to be read first because of the return date. There is something wrong with that practice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

