Top Ten Favorite Books I’ve Read During The Lifespan Of My Blog

Hey there! It’s Tuesday, and today I’m participating in the “Top Ten Tuesday” link-up hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

***

Today’s list is the “Top Ten Favorite Books I’ve Read During the Lifespan of my Blog.” Since my blog is still new-ish (launched April 30, 2012!), this list will be somewhat skewed, but I thought it’d be fun to participate anyway! Happy Tuesday!

Top Ten Favorite Books I’ve Read During the Lifespan of My Blog (in no particular order):

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I loved reading this classic book! I was hooked from page one with the descriptions of 1920’s Long Island, to the cautionary tale of unrequited love, and the dangers of believing too strongly in the “American dream.”

2. This Life is in Your Hands by Melissa Coleman

I loved this memoir, and think it is one of the most unique books I’ve read in a long time. I posted my thoughts on it here.

3. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson

I was not one of Steve Jobs’s disciples before I read this book (and still wouldn’t consider myself one), but I loved reading about his life and the history of Apple. It’s a 5/5 star read for sure!

4. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

There has been “much ado” about this book and Gillian Flynn for good reason! I really liked this book, and will read more Gillian Flynn in the future!

5. Bossypants by Tina Fey

I “read” the audiobook version of this book and it was AWESOME. Tina Fey narrates the book and it was really interesting and funny to hear her read the book. The chapter on her honeymoon was especially hilarious. I also really enjoyed re-listening to the Sarah Palin Saturday Night Live skits in their entirety. I definitely recommend this book, especially the audiobook version, if you can get your hands on it!

6. Night by Elie Wiesel

This was a very moving read, and one of the most important that I’ve read this year. I posted my thoughts on it here.

7. Thunderhead by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

This was a really great thriller. It combines history, archeology, and good ole fashion suspense. I definitely recommend this one if you are looking for a good page turner.

8. The Girl in the Garden by Kamala Nair

I love reading books set in India and this one really hooked me, especially when you consider the fact that I finished it in like two days.

9. Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier

This was just a fabulous book written by a great author. I plan to rent the movie ASAP.

10. The Healing by Jonathan Odell

This was a very interesting and unique book. I really enjoyed it!

***

What have been the favorite books you’ve read during the lifespan of your blog?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 11:02:59

    I’m reading Gone Girl now and I’m hooked! Glad to see it made your top ten. And I agree that the Bossypants audio is fantastic. Hoping to read Steve Jobs bio sometime too. Thanks for sharing – great list!

    Reply

  2. Tea Time with Marce
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 11:49:53

    Love your list, you read a mix like me. I’m a new follower via email. Gone Girl made me to angry, lol

    Reply

  3. Tanya Patrice
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 12:25:43

    I haven’t read any from your list – but Gone Girl and The Healing are 2 I’m hoping to get to soon. Thx for sharing 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jonathan Odell
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 13:01:10

    Thanks for including THE HEALING!!

    Reply

  5. Dale
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 15:09:23

    You have a great list! The Great Gatsby is one of my favorites. I think I’m going to re-read it sometime in the near future. I read Cold Mountain a few years ago. Loved it. And the movie!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Aug 21, 2012 @ 15:20:48

      I’m excited for the release of the new GG movie as well! I think the release was delayed recently though into next year.

      Reply

      • Dale
        Aug 21, 2012 @ 16:33:36

        Yes, I’ve seen the trailers! It looks like it could be good! And I think you are right, it’s been delayed from the end of this year to sometime next year.

Leave a Reply

