Thursday Thoughts 10.0

The weeks keep on flying by…Today I’m linking up with Sarah and sharing my Thursday Thoughts!

***

[1]

Uggg…this week has been filled with REALLY tedious lab work. Basically it involves me taking a 0.025 mm diameter piece of gold wire, painting it with indium via a soldering iron, and carefully (and gently) pressing it to a sample with a wooden toothpick. Oh yea did I mention I do it all under a microscope? While this process is always tedious it doesn’t always give me THIS much trouble. Plus I have about 4 times the usual amount of samples to do. Joy. I made good progress yesterday though, so I’m hoping today will go just as well.

[2]

Speaking of tedious and annoying lab work…in the pursuit of finishing this project up I sacrificed my beautiful manicure that I gave myself last week. Apparently my fingers were a little closer to the microscope lamp then I realized (and probably for longer than I realized as well). All I know is that at one point I sat up in my chair and was trying to take my lab gloves off when I realized that they wouldn’t come off because the polish on several of the nails had melted to them. Yes that’s right…melted.

Since I don’t really need gloves for this particular procedure, I quit wearing them (not surprisingly my dexterity also went up about 150%). I also decided that I’m not re-doing my nails until I am done with this project. If that’s not motivation to get-er-done I don’t know what is!

[3]

Late last week a very traumatic event occurred in my life…I was separated from my beloved coffee thermos for nearly 12 hours. It happened late Thursday afternoon when I had gone to the library to read some journal articles (like the good little grad student that I am), and was interrupted from my scholarly thoughts by a pushy library aide informing me that library was closing (our library has stupid hours during the summer session). I had a few textbooks that I wanted to check out so I rushed down to the circulation desk, and apparently set my thermos down on the floor in front of the counter (and out of my direct line of vision). They were really in a hurry to get me out of the library and so in my haste to get out of there I left the thermos behind.

Once I realized my mistake I was heartbroken. Not only was this thermos a gift from my dad, it also held 8 cups of coffee (and it is surprisingly hard to find thermos’s that big these days). Also, losing this thermos brought back memories of The Great Coffee Thermos Incident of 2008 (in which I lost a similar giant thermos). Luckily unlike 2008, this story has a happy ending…WE WERE REUNITED! The pushy library aide found my thermos and put it behind the front desk for me.

[4]

Friday night I’m going to see Gotye live in concert! I’m very excited! Not only do I love Gotye, but this will also be the first live show I’ve seen in Chicago (other than the Chicago Symphony Orchestra).

***

That’s all for now. Have a great weekend everyone!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 11:44:34

    Love your dramatic story about the coffee thermos, and the happy ending too! I don’t drink coffee, but I am definitely just as much attached to certain other items I own! And it’s a bummer about your manicure, I’ve never heard of such a thing happening!

    Reply

  2. Joslin
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 12:00:34

    Aw your nails were super cute! How many fingers were ruined? Sometimes if it’s just one really bad nail, I put a band aid on it and pretend the rest are fine.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 12:15:35

    I wholeheartedly approve of your love of your thermos. I’m a coffee (and mug) lover, so I get it. πŸ˜‰

    Here’s hoping your project doesn’t take too long to finish! I’m curious, what do you actually do? Like, what’s the scientific end look like?

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Aug 23, 2012 @ 12:57:26

      So my background is electrical engineering but I’m getting my Ph.D. in materials science. I make different kinds of electronic devices (sometimes LEDs, sometimes other transistors that would go in consumer devices), so most of the lab mishaps I mention are in the pursuit of finishing up a set a devices. For the aforementioned project, I was basically just trying to create longer connections to my devices so they could be measured in a radiation chamber!

      Reply

  4. Beth
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:50:21

    Ah, Gotye! I’m so jealous. I can’t wait to hear how it was. πŸ™‚

    Also, I understand the trauma associated with losing one’s coffee vessel. Glad you got it back. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

