My Summer TBR list–How did I do?

A few weeks ago I posted my fall “to-be-read” list, and I thought it’d be good to take a step back and see how many books I read from the summer TBR list. Goal setting is an important part of life–it helps us accomplish the things we want to do. Correspondingly, so is taking some time to reflect back on those goals. Only through this process of goal setting and reflecting can we continue to improve. I’ve posted some of my initial thoughts on the books I read below, and the full review will be posted at a later date. So here it is in all its glory…a look back at the books on my summer TBR list. How did I do?

Books From My Summer TBR List:

  The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

This classic novel had been on my to-read list for YEARS. It was really exciting to finally read it and be able to mark it off the list. I also really loved it. Usually, when a novel is hyped as much as this one it tends to disappoint me. Not the case with GG. 5/5 stars.

 Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

I finished this one, but man was it a struggle! The writing was excellent (and the translation I read was good), but the narrative was so gloomy that I just wasn’t always very motivated to pick it up. 3/5 stars.

  Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson

This was one of the best biographies I’ve read in years. 5/5 stars.

The Alchemy of Air by Thomas Hager

I started this book the day before I made my fall TBR list, so technically I read it during “summer” but I didn’t actually finish it. As of today I am about 50 pages from finishing it, and I have really enjoyed reading it.

X  The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

I didn’t quite make it to this one, but it is on my Fall TBR list.

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

I still really want to read this, but I’ll have to push it a little further down on the TBR pile for now.

X  The Help by Kathryn Stockett

See Previous.

X  Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt

This book has been added to my fall TBR list.

X  The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian

This one is still definitely on my to-read pile…but like some of the others on this list it has been pushed a little farther down in priority.

 Bossypants by Tina Fey

LOVED this book. I had the audiobook version (which was read by Tina herself) and I finished it in one day. No joke. 4/5 stars.

***

So…I read 4/10 books from the list. You don’t have to have a Ph.D. in mathematics to know that isn’t a good statistic. There are several reasons I didn’t get to the whole list. First, besides being a perpetually busy graduate student, I also got stuck on Crime and Punishment for over a month…so that kind of derailed my progress a bit. Also, I ended up reading other things that weren’t on the list. I don’t think these diversions are a bad thing…they just happened to be what struck my fancy at the time. And besides, reading is reading right? Here is a peak at what I was reading instead of things that were on my TBR list.

Books I Read That Were NOT On My Summer TBR List:

The Healing by Jonathan Odell

This was a really great book. I’ll post a review soon! 4/5 stars.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Believe the hype folks…this book is really good. I’ll admit that I did start to get a teensy bit annoyed with it right before part 2, but it picked right back up and I was hooked again. 4/5 stars.

White Truffles in Winter by N. M. Kelby

This novel is the fictionalized life of the great French chef Auguste Escoffier. I really liked the premise of this book, and it frequently made me really hungry. However, it was kind of a slow read for me…and perhaps a bit too long. 3/5 stars.

***

Have a great Tuesday everyone!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. josev82
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 09:32:59

    I’ve been putting off reading The Great Gatsby for quite some time now, but I think it’s time to give it a try. Nice post, I liked it! I’m not much of a reader (yet) but I’m hoping to get more into the habit now… 🙂

    Reply

  2. exlibrisheather
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 14:26:58

    Thank you! You’ll have to let me know how you like The Great Gatsby. I think it’s a good novel to “get back into the swing of things” with. It’s well written, has a fast moving plot, and is pretty short.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

