This Weekend, I… 1.0

Oh hey there! I still have a blog and stuff…I’m sorry for my lack of posting but qual season (i.e. my qualifying examination) has me VERY busy (and very unmotivated to do any extra writing). However, it has come to my attention that some people actually read this blog (hi Grandma!) so I figured I’d give a quick update on my life as of late (or at least my life as of this weekend). Today I am participating in Sarah’s new link-up call “This Weekend, I…” Maybe I can make this a weekly habit…???

***

This weekend, I helped my friend Dana celebrate passing her qualifying examination. We began the night at Uberstien in Wrigleyville, and stayed there for a wee bit longer than I think any of us intended to. We bring prospective graduate students to this bar, but don’t usually venture here otherwise (generally because we end up spending a lot of money). On Friday nights, Uberstien has live polka music, and Dana discovered earlier in the year that if you tell the band it’s someone’s birthday they will force the birthday girl/boy to join the band and play a “special instrument.” Dana did this to a friend of ours earlier in the year (it was very funny) and we returned the favor on Friday night:

The “Birthday Girl”/Ph.D. Candidate

A good time was had by all. Congratulations Dana!

This weekend, I watched KSU beat Oklahoma State! Great game by the cats, and I am really looking forward to the next one!

Halloween lives on in my apartment!

This weekend, I gave myself a new manicure that I REALLY like.

Base/Top coat: Sally Hansen Flawless

Polish: Sally Hansen Midnight in NY

Glitter coat:Revlon Radiant

This weekend, I made a super delicious chicken enchilada soup. I will post the recipe for it soon!

The perfect pairing with my new favorite t.v. show Revenge

***

I hope you had a great weekend and have a great week!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 10:06:15

    So glad you love Revenge! Also, I feel you about the qualifying exam season. I’m so grateful that I’m past that point in my grad school career! (Neiner neiner!) 😉 Here’s hoping you get to take some time for yourself too!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Nov 05, 2012 @ 13:38:54

      Thanks! My problem right now is taking too much time for myself in the form of “productive procrastination” 😦 It will be all over soon and hopefully I’ll pass 🙂

      Reply

  2. Beth
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 12:47:36

    Love the nails! I’ve always been intrigued by the glitter coats but a little hesitant to try them. Maybe I’ll give it a go some day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

