This Weekend, I… 2.0

Happy Holidays everyone! I know I haven’t been very good about posting lately–it’s been absolutely crazy! As I have mentioned several times, I was tied up for a few months preparing for my Ph.D. qualification examination. It came, it went, and I passed!!! However, 23 hours after the exam was over, my advisor asked me to write a chapter for a book…with a deadline of less than 2 weeks (geez I didn’t get much time to celebrate!). So needless to say…I haven’t really had time to work on my blog. But my advisor and I submitted the paper yesterday, so it’s time to get back to blogging! Without further ado, here is a look back at my weekend.

***

This weekend, I made some chocolate-dipped pretzels with my mom.

Woo pretzels and Santa aprons!

Woo pretzels and Santa aprons!

Mom and I always do some baking around the holidays, and this year we decided to branch out of the usual fare with these pretzels. Also, they were a fun, easy, project that we completed in less than 2 hours (prep and clean-up time included). I think they turned out pretty good…

 prezelsnowatermark

This weekend, I welcomed my sister home to Kansas with a small but colorful sign at the airport.

Holding it loud and proud!

Holding it loud and proud!

Jen’s original flight home was cancelled due to a winter storm (wah wah wah wahhhhh), so she flew home on Saturday morning instead of Thursday evening. Since I had a little time on my hands for once, I decided to make her a sign and greet her at the airport. For those of you who don’t know J, she absolutely LOVES this kind of thing (actually she really doesn’t).

She's embarrassed! Success!

She’s embarrassed! Success!

Nevertheless she was a good sport! Welcome home J!!!!

This weekend, I visited the Kansas State University Campus!!!

Even with no sunglasses she was a trooper!

Even with no sunglasses she was a trooper!

Since Jen flew into Manhappin’ instead of Kansas City, we made a trip to the KSU campus! I hadn’t been to Manhattan or the campus in over a year and half, and I couldn’t believe how much it had changed! I’ve missed it so much, and it was nice to be able to visit!

When we graduated, mom and dad bought J and I a brick on the senior sidewalk. It takes them awhile to get the bricks out there, so this was the first chance we’d had to see our bricks in person!

photo(54)_1-nowatermark

photo(55)_1-nowatermark

Kneeling by our bricks!

We even made it into the same section, which is surprising considering we graduated a year apart! Thanks again mom and dad, we really appreciate it.

This weekend, I made the annual batch of Chex mix

mmmmm

mmmmm

I love Chex mix and look forward to it every year. This year mom bought Christmas tree pretzels so it was even MORE festive.

***

Well that was my weekend, and I hope you had a great one too! Merry Christmas Eve everyone!

Linking up with Sarah!

TWI

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jodi
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:10:57

    That is very cool that you have a brick. I wanted one at my college but they stopped selling them so I never got one! I love chex mix! It is so good – I’ve never made it though! Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  2. My Life As...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 15:11:57

    I love chex mix & those pretzels look amazing.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 17:34:11

    Congrats on your quals, Heather! Does that mean you’re ABD now?! Woohoo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

