Top Ten Books Bookish Goals for 2013

Happy Tuesday! It’s been quite awhile since I participated in this meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, but it’s still one of my favorites!

***

The theme for today is “Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2013.” Some of these goals were outlined in my 2013 Reading Challenges post, but there are some other bookish things I would like to accomplish that weren’t listed in that post. So without further ado…

Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2013:

1. Read 52 books

I made great strides in my reading goals last year by reading 45 books, but I’d like to up that number this year.

2. Try to complete the 6 reading challenges I signed up for

I like to finish what I start. We’ll see if I can get all these done.

3. Read a classic/more serious book that is > 500 pages

After reading both Vanity Fair and War and Peace in 2011, I shied away from large, serious novels in 2012. I’m staring at a few on my shelves that I’d like to get to this year–namely Middlemarch (George Eliot), The Name of the Rose (Umberto Eco), or 1Q84 (Haruki Murakami)

4. Get caught up on my reviews

Whew! I am massively behind on my book reviews! I have drafts for books going all the way back to mid 2012…I’d really like to finally get these posted!

5. Select and read a few books on a whim

I can get pretty caught up in trying to complete reading challenges. Whether it is the above mentioned 2013 reading challenges or the BBC list I’ve been working my way through for a few years, I don’t have too many of those “oh this looks interesting, I’m going to drop all my other reading plans and read this right now” moments. I get much joy out of these discoveries and diversions, and often my favorite books of the year come from these detours (i.e. This Life is In Your Hands from 2012).

6. Read More Nonfiction

Frequently I find I learn more and gain a better perspective about my life and the world around me by reading non-fiction (especially biographies and memoirs), yet I don’t read nearly as much non-fiction as I do fiction. So this year, in an effort to even out the playing field, I signed myself up for a non-fiction challenge.

7. Read/Finish/Consider Starting a Series

I don’t remember why now, but I got really annoyed at the plethora of series books in 2011. I think at the time I felt like the series books I was reading were an attempt by the author and the publisher to squeeze out maximum profits from a mediocre story. In 2012, the only series I read was The Hunger Games, and it was a disappointing and somewhat underwhelming experience (note: I DID like The Hunger Games series. I just didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. So please don’t hate me.). Needless to say, I have been a bit “meh” about starting or finishing a series since then. I know there are a lot of great series out there (and a few I want to finish up), so I’ll at least think about it tackling one this year. Maybe.

8. Read an e-book

This goal probably sounds silly to 99% of you out there, but I have to admit I’m a bit of an e-book hater. One of the great joys of the reading experience for me is physically being in contact with the book–touching the pages, looking at the cover etc. However, last year I started listening to audiobooks and LOVED it. Since I received an iPad for Christmas, I figure it’s high time I see what all the e-book fuss is about. Who knows…maybe I could be an e-book zealot by this time next year. I doubt it…but you never know.

9. Get caught up on books I want to read that have been/are being turned into movies

There is a whole list of books I own/want to read that have been or are being turned into movies. Included in this list: The Help, Water for Elephants, Cloud Atlas, and Life of Pi.

10. Get More Involved in the Book Blogging Community

One of the main reasons I started blogging was to meet and learn from other people who read a lot. I’m still in my first year of blogging, but I’d like to do better at reaching out to and interacting with the Book Blogging community.

***

What are your bookish goals for 2013?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Geoff W
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 11:41:19

    1) I’m about half way through 1Q84 and I’m really enjoying it! It’s definitely a tome though. I’m also planning on reading Middlemarch this year too.

    2) Don’t make a final judgement on e-books by the iPad experience! I have an iPad and a Kindle and I find it difficult to read on my iPad because the iPad is pretty heavy and the back light bothers me too, but I will occasionally use it because of the bigger screen size. I LOVE my kindle because I can stick it in a quart size plastic baggy and read in the pool (dropped it in twice and voila it was okay still :-D), and it’s light weight and no backlight!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jan 08, 2013 @ 12:57:17

      I’m glad to hear you are enjoying 1Q84! I really want to read it…I’m just a little intimidated by the size. Also, thanks for the tips about e-books. If I don’t like reading it on the iPad, I’ll consider other e-readers. Do you find you prefer reading books electronically now to reading a paperback?

      Reply

      • Geoff W
        Jan 09, 2013 @ 07:59:35

        It’s definitely still a toss up. Right now for 1Q84 I desperately wish it were a-book, but that’s because lugging around a nearly 1,000 page book is tiring! I don’t have a preference really, I love the convenience of the e-reader, but used bookstores are my vice and I will always spend more than I should there.

  2. Lucy
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:02:41

    These are some great goals! I’m glad you’re enjoying audiobooks. They are such a good sneaky way to fit more reading time in. And I think memoirs work very well in audio format too.

    I so agree with you about #7. I have such a love/hate relationship with series now..I breathe a sigh of relief when I have a standalone book to read πŸ™‚

    Good luck with all your reading and blogging goals this year! Looking forward to checking out your book reviews.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jan 09, 2013 @ 09:37:48

      Thank you and good luck to you in your goals as well! I’ll have to try a memoir in audiobook form. I’ve sort of avoided non-fiction audiobooks for fear it wouldn’t be able to keep my attention, but I should at least try it once.

      Reply

  3. Christina @ BookTasty
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:29:06

    I finally got caught up with reviews over the Winter Break…they’re all scheduled now. πŸ™‚ Good luck with all your bookish goals!

    Reply

  4. diggingher
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:17:51

    I am part of the 80 days around the world club on Goodreads but I have yet to follow what they read. I would like to sync my reading to coincide with the group;as of yet my active participation has not occurred. I have also consider changing up the genre a bit, maybe a few more young adult books. I am considering the Narnia series, I don’t think I ever read as a kid.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jan 09, 2013 @ 09:41:04

      LOL. I’m also a member of a few clubs on goodreads that I’m not active in. I’d like to be more involved, but my schedule is so erratic that I’m hesitant to commit to anything like that. I’m also looking at reading the Narnia books this year–I read Lion, Witch, and the Wardrobe while younger but didn’t really read any of the others. I wish you luck in all your 2013 reading goals!

      Reply

  5. biblioglobal
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:39:29

    You’ve got some great reading plans. Just a thought about number 4: one way to catch up on reviews is to just forget about the back-log and move on. For me, it can feel like a relief sometimes to just stop trying to catch up.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jan 09, 2013 @ 09:42:10

      It’s interesting that you say that…cause I’ve thought about doing this. I got so behind last quarter due to my Ph.D. qualifying examination that I might never get caught up at this rate. It might be good to just start fresh.

      Reply

  6. Beth
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 23:37:31

    Not gonna lie, I was a little bit skeptical about the e-book thing…and then I got a Kindle Touch, and my life was changed forever. πŸ™‚ I’ve definitely read more books since I got my Kindle than I had in the years before that!

    Reply

  7. Angelica @ Paperback Princess
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 06:07:11

    Fantastic set of goals. All the best and hope you succeed in all of your bookish goals.

    My Bookish Goals.

    Reply

  8. Sunny
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 09:37:05

    I need to do #10 as well! It helps with this memes πŸ™‚ great list!

    My TTT: http://blueskyshelf.blogspot.com/2013/01/top-ten-tuesday-bookish-goals-for-2013.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

