Thursday Thoughts 14.0

Whew! It’s Thursday already!? Here are some things that are on my mind today…

***

[1]

I wanted to have a picture of some snazzy new nail art this week, but sadly I don’t. I have unsuccessfully tried twice to do this manicure, which uses a sharpie for the tips. My guess is I haven’t let the sharpie part dry enough before putting on the top coat since I’m having lots of problems with smearing and discoloration. Alas! I’ve been wearing my last failed attempt for like a week now, and will probably do something simple for Valentines day week. Two failed experiments in a row doesn’t make me excited to try for a third!

[2]

I am finally almost done with my blog revisions. I’ve been working to get the menus in the header updated, and only have an “About Me” page left to add. Almost there!

[3]

It’s official! I made my monthly cardio goal for January!

January Goals-edit

My goal was to hit about 85 miles so that I can reach 1000 miles of cardio by the end of the year, and as you can see I exceeded that! It’s probably a good thing I did because I have a feeling it’s going to be more challenging to reach that number in February. For starters, it’s a shorter month. Also, it’s been too cold and snowy for me to walk to school (2.3 miles each way), so I’ve been having to take public transportation. This is reflected in the meager 12 miles I’ve completed so far this month šŸ˜¦

[4]

I found out yesterday that my second co-author paper has been accepted! I’m doing a happy dance. Maybe I will someday get to leave here with a degree!

[5]

I get (i.e. am required to) host my first visiting scientist to our lab. This scientist will be visiting from another national laboratory, and I will be the one to coordinate travel arrangements as well as tours of the school and the lab. It’ll be a good experience for me, but I know it’s going to be a bit of work on my part. I’m nervous about that, but am hopeful that it will be a productive visit. Maybe a new collaboration will form from it and I’ll get another paper. Ha! I can dream right? šŸ˜‰

[6]

I’ve had a very busy social calendar of late. It’s a rough life I know! šŸ˜‰ I’ve had plans 5 of the last 7 nights, but of course I have no pictures to show for it…

Here is a quick recap…mostly for my parents and posterity’s sake. Feel free to buzz past if you are uninterested and/or do not fall into either of those categories (but Mom you have to read this!).

Thursday 1/31: My friends Alex and Kayla came over to help me change my kitchen light. Don’t mock–I have 12′ ceilings and the light fixture is this heavy globe…and it was dark in there y’all! Afterwards, Kayla stayed and I made us dinner and we watched Revenge. It was during these episodes where I attempted the second failed sharpie manicure experiment.

Friday 2/1: I went into the city to have dinner and drinks with my friend Elizabeth and her friend Emily. Emily recently moved to the city, and so we hung out in her neighborhood (i.e. River North).

Saturday 2/2: I stayed at Elizabeth’s Friday night because I didn’t want to come all the way up north by myself late at night. She and her roommate Kate made me pancakes, and then I took the train back up north. The instant I walked into my apartment, my friend Ricardo (i.e. the organizer of the Food Adventures) called me and told me everyone was having lunch at Crisp. I quickly got ready and headed back out to have lunch with them. I had the boneless wings (with the Crisp bbq sauce) and they were delicious! I was SO TIRED after lunch so I went home after that.

Sunday 2/3: Superbowl Sunday! I worked all morning and afternoon, and then went back to Elizabeth’s apartment for her Superbowl gathering. She and Kate made us chili, bacon-wrapped sweet potatoes (which were SO GOOD), and cookies. I ate WAY too much.

Tuesday 2/5: I went to Trivia Night at a local bar and grill with some people from the department. We choose the name “Tuesdays With Morrie” for our group. Obviously, this is the title of a Mitch Albom book but it had additional significance for us as well. We are materials scientists, and this term was first coined by Professor Morris E. Fine at Northwestern University (where we are students) in 1955. Professor Fine is still a professor in our department (albeit he is an Emeritus faculty member now), and is a science hero to many of us. Since it was also Tuesday, it seemed an adept name for our group. The essence of Morrie must be strong because we won the first round! Our prize was a $20 gift card to the bar and grill where the trivia night is held.

Wednesday 2/6: I went to a dinner held at The Celtic Knot in honor of my friend Beth for passing her qualifying examination! It was also a celebration for her birthday (which is today). Congratulations and happy birthday Beth!

Thursday 2/7: Tonight I will be headed to Nevin’s for happy hour with the graduate students from my lab in honor of our lab mate Ted passing his qualifying examination, which is behind held as we speak! I’m sure Ted will pass, so I have no doubt it will be a celebration!

Whew! What a crazy week! I have no plans for the weekend yet (other than going into work), but perhaps that isn’t a bad thing.

***

Have a great weekend everyone!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Geoff W
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 16:10:54

    2) It’s looking great!
    3) 1000! I’m beyond impressed, I’m just trying to get to 50ish a month.
    4) Congratulations!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Feb 11, 2013 @ 16:08:29

      Thank you! I really appreciate that! Don’t be too impressed by the 1000–I get many of those miles on my commute to work (it’s a 2.3 mile walk each way) so it feels like cheating. I was originally shooting for 750 for the year…but with the commute miles I decided to up it. 50 miles a month is awesome! Good luck!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Thursday Thoughts 15.0 | Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

