Top Ten Favorite Romances

Happy Tuesday! Today I am participating in Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

***

The theme for today is “Top Ten Favorite Romances,” but I could only think of 9. I tried, I really did, but I just couldn’t think of one more that was a “favorite.” So I went with 9…

Top Ten Nine Favorite Romances:

1. Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

This will probably make almost everyone’s list today, but it’s still one of my favorite romances of all time!

2. Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler from Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

O.k. you might have your feelings about Scarlett, and yes I know they don’t end up together in the end…but it’s still a pretty epic romance and one of my favorites.

3. Newland Archer and Ellen Olenska from Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

Yes, another romance where they don’t end up together in end! But again, one of my favorites!

4. Anna and Étienne from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

It was obvious what the result was going to be from the beginning of the novel, but I still really enjoyed seeing it all play out.

5. Jane Eyre and Edward Rochester from Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

I love this book, and how their relationship survives and thrives despite all obstacles.

6. Henry and Clare from The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

I loved this book and this unusual romance! The ending is a little bit sad, but I still think it’s a great romance.

7. All of the the Bridgerton romances from the Bridgerton series by Julia Quinn

I don’t read a lot of “historical romance” books anymore (I like to think that was just a phrase in my teen years) but I will still admit to loving this series. The Bridgerton family was made up of 8 siblings and their widowed mother, and there was a book (and a romance) for every sibling. If I had to pick a favorite romance out of the 8, it would probably be Francesca and Michael from When He was Wicked.

8. Harry Potter and Ginny Weasley from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

I was never one of those people who wanted Harry and Hermione to end up together. It was clear to me from the beginning of the series that Hermione and Ron were meant to be. And how can you not love the Harry and Ginny pairing? I’m of the firm belief that J.K. Rowling finished the series right.

9. Eve Duncan and Joe Quinn from the Eve Duncan series by Iris Johansen

I’ve read this series for over 10 years now, and while my enthusiasm for it has waned I have always been a fan of this couple. They were friends for 10 years before becoming romantically involved, and I think this added credulity to their romance as it endured the bumps Johansen threw in the road.

***

What are your favorite literary romances?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Quinn
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 13:12:42

    I love JQ! She is pretty much an automatic read for me – except I never read the Two Dukes of Windom books. Anyway, my favorite of the Bridgerton series is probably Romancing Mr. Bridgerton. I know, most people love that one, but I totally get why. I also love Anthony’s story and Daphne’s story. My least favorite (although it was the first JQ book I ever read) was Benedict’s story.

    Also, yay for Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet 🙂

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Feb 12, 2013 @ 16:54:11

      I love JQ too. Probably the only historical romance I read anymore. I actually kind of liked Benedict’s story…my least favorites were probably the last two (maybe I was a little bit burned out by then?!). I’m a little behind on my JQ reading…but I’d recommend checking out the Duke of Wyndham series…especially the first one (The Lost Duke of Wyndham).

      Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 14:28:07

    I remember having an argument with a friend who insisted Harry and Hermione would be an item early on in that series. I was always Ron+Hermione, too!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Feb 12, 2013 @ 16:47:36

      I agree 100% There was just too much chemistry between Ron and Hermione…even as far back as Sorcerer’s Stone. I can see why people would want Harry and Hermione to be together…but it just wasn’t right in my (very humble) opinion.

      Reply

  3. Shelver506
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 18:32:28

    Sigh. Darcy and Elizabeth. They’re on every list for a reason. So, so good.

    My TTT: http://shelversanon.blogspot.com/2013/02/top-10-tuesday-favorite-romances.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

