Guacamole Chicken Enchiladas

As I’ve mentioned previously, I really love Mexican food. I especially love guacamole…I would probably eat it everyday if I could. So, when I found this recipe I knew I would love it. And I did. Oh I did. The best part? It was really, really easy. I will definitely be making these again!

***

Guacamole Chicken Enchiladas

Adapted from: Real Mom Kitchen

guacamolechickenenchilada

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts, diced

1 (10 oz) can mild tomatoes with green chilies (like Ro*Tel), drained

1 medium yellow onion, diced

1 cup prepared guacamole

6 flour tortillas

2 (10 oz) cans mild red enchilada sauce

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

2 tablespoon vegetable oil

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9 x 13 inch dish with non-stick cooking spray and set aside.

Add vegetable oil to frying pan, and saute onions over medium heat. Add in the chicken to the pan and and saute until cooked.

In a large bowl, combine the chicken, canned tomatoes with chilies, onion, and guacamole.

Warm the tortillas in the microwave to make them pliable. Then, fill the tortillas with the chicken mixture and place seam side down in the prepared 9 x 13 inch dish. Pour enchilada sauce over the filled tortillas. Finally, sprinkle evenly with shredded cheese.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or until cheese is fully melted. Makes 6 servings.

Notes:

The original recipe called for store-bought guacamole (which I used for the sake of time), but I also think these would delicious (probably even more delicious) with the homemade stuff.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann Arnold
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 16:01:45

    I’ll be making this tomorrow do we can stay home and watch the game. I was already thinking of making chicken enchiladas and have all the stuff, even the quac. Thanks for sharing

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

  2. Tanya @ Mom's Small Victories
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 16:24:41

    that looks delicious! I love guacamole too and mexican food is easy to make and so tasty. thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

