It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 1.0

Hello everyone and Happy Monday! Admittedly, I’ve been in a bit of a slump lately when it comes to posting bookish things (and some weeks anything at all). It’s not that I haven’t been reading (oh believe me I have), I just haven’t been blogging much about it. I recently ran across this weekly meme, and decided it’d be a good way to track my yearly reading progress. I’m also hoping it will help me get past this bookish writers block…

***

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Last week I finished:


The Twelve

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

In his internationally bestselling and critically acclaimed novel The Passage, Justin Cronin constructed an unforgettable world transformed by a government experiment gone horribly wrong. Now the scope widens and the intensity deepens as the epic story surges forward with . . . The Twelve

In the present day, as the man-made apocalypse unfolds, three strangers navigate the chaos. Lila, a doctor and an expectant mother, is so shattered by the spread of violence and infection that she continues to plan for her child’s arrival even as society dissolves around her. Kittridge, known to the world as “Last Stand in Denver,” has been forced to flee his stronghold and is now on the road, dodging the infected, armed but alone and well aware that a tank of gas will get him only so far. April is a teenager fighting to guide her little brother safely through a landscape of death and ruin. These three will learn that they have not been fully abandoned—and that in connection lies hope, even on the darkest of nights.

One hundred years in the future, Amy and the others fight on for humankind’s salvation . . . unaware that the rules have changed. The enemy has evolved, and a dark new order has arisen with a vision of the future infinitely more horrifying than man’s extinction. If the Twelve are to fall, one of those united to vanquish them will have to pay the ultimate price.

Remember when I said I wasn’t going to get too bogged down in series books this year? Yea, well that plan has gone out the window. Last year I read and loved Justin Cronin’s The Passage. It was long and it was sort of about vampires (which I swore I’d never read another book about), but I loved it all the same. So when the second book in the trilogy, The Twelve, was released I knew I’d want to get my hands on it.

I think I loved The Twelve just as much as I did The Passage, and I liked following many of the same characters through this (epically) long novel. The second installment in this series took some twists and turns that were unexpected to me, and I really enjoyed that. I felt like the end was a bit melodramatic, but I guess that was important to set up the final installment in the series. Like The Passage, I listened to The Twelve, which again features Scott Brick’s narration. Previously, I found his voice to be sort of annoying and melodramatic, but I guess after listening to it for so long now (over 50 parts between these two books and about 20 parts previously) it has grown on me. Overall, I’d rate it about 4/5 stars, and anxiously await the final book!

This week I am reading:

Clash of Kings

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

Time is out of joint. The summer of peace and plenty, ten years long, is drawing to a close, and the harsh, chill winter approaches like an angry beast. Two great leaders—Lord Eddard Stark and Robert Baratheon—who held sway over and age of enforced peace are dead…victims of royal treachery. Now, from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns, as pretenders to the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms prepare to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war.

As a prophecy of doom cuts across the sky—a comet the color of blood and flame—six factions struggle for control of a divided land. Eddard’s son Robb has declared himself King in the North. In the south, Joffrey, the heir apparent, rules in name only, victim of the scheming courtiers who teem over King’s Landing. Robert’s two brothers each seek their own dominion, while a disfavored house turns once more to conquest. And a continent away, an exiled queen, the Mother of Dragons, risks everything to lead her precious brood across a hard hot desert to win back the crown that is rightfully hers.

A Clash of Kings transports us into a magnificent, forgotten land of revelry and revenge, wizardry and wartime. It is a tale in which maidens cavort with madmen, brother plots against brother, and the dead rise to walk in the night. Here a princess masquerades as an orphan boy; a knight of the mind prepares a poison for a treacherous sorceress; and wild men descend from the Mountains of the Moon to ravage the countryside.

Although I’ve already seen season 2 of the HBO series, Game of Thrones, I am excited to be working my way through the second installment in George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series. The third season of Game of Thrones premieres soon, but I think I want to try and read the third book before watching it.

This week I am listening to:

The SistersSynopsis adapted from Goodreads:

Growing up in hardscrabble Kentucky in the 1920s, with their mother dead and their stepfather an ever-present threat, Bertie Fisher and her older sister Mabel have no one but each other—with perhaps a sweetheart for Bertie waiting in the wings.  But on the day that Bertie receives her eighth-grade diploma, good intentions go terribly wrong, setting off a chain of misunderstandings that will send the sisters on separate paths and reverberate through their daughters’ and granddaughters’ lives.

What happens when nothing turns out as you planned?  From the Depression through World War II and Vietnam, and smaller events both tragic and joyful. Bertie and Mabel forge unexpected identities and raise daughters—and sisters—of their own, learning that love and betrayal are even more complicated than they seem.  Gorgeously written, with extraordinary insight and emotional truth, Nancy Jensen’s debut novel illuminates the far-reaching power of family and family secrets.

I was afraid this book might be a little bit depressing, but it’s very well written and I’m enjoying it so far!

***

It's Monday

Linking up with Book Journey!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Geoff W
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 12:38:56

    Can’t wait to hear what you think about the books in A Song of Ice and Fire! I loved it and can’t wait to re-read them when the next book comes out.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Mar 18, 2013 @ 15:07:21

      I liked Game of Thrones and Clash of Kings is going well so far. Are you also watching GOT on HBO? I have to admit I started watching before I started reading (I don’t usually do that).

      Reply

  2. Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 14:41:17

    The Sisters looks like a novel I would enjoy. I look forward to reading what you think about it after you finish. Thanks for visiting me at The Key to the Gate. Have a great week!
    Happy Reading,
    Rebecca

    Reply

  3. therelentlessreader
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 16:44:56

    Hi Heather, welcome to the meme 🙂 I love it, it really does help me keep my reading organized. (That’s no easy task!) I have yet to dive into the Thrones series but I’ve heard nothing but great things. My brother in law loaned them to me and they are sitting on a shelf calling my name 😉

    Have a great week of reading!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Mar 18, 2013 @ 21:15:06

      Oh you are so lucky to have a friend with the full set! I’m checking them out from the library…Since they are hot items I can’t renew them and feel lots of pressure to finish one in the allotted two weeks. I hope you enjoy them–I know I sure have!

      Reply

  4. Tanya @ Mom's Small Victories
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 21:20:12

    Good luck with the Game of Thrones series. I had wanted to read them but then hubby bought season 1. I don’t think I’ll be reading them, the TV version certainly pulled at my heartstrings. I linked up to this meme too and was lucky enough to win the prize this week! Not a bad way to end a Monday! Enjoy your reading/listening this week Heather!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Mar 18, 2013 @ 21:43:55

      Yes! The HBO series is so good. I want to make myself wait to watch season 3 until I read the 3rd book…but I don’t know if I’ll be able to wait that long. Also I totally understand your decision to not read the books. The TV series follows the book series very closely AND the books are really long. Congratulations on winning the weekly prize! A giftcard to Amazon IS a great way to start the week 🙂

      Reply

  5. Karen
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 07:08:22

    I LOVED the passage. I haven’t gotten round to picking up twelve yet. I think I will wait until the paperback (just because of the size of it). Hope you enjoy the Game of Throne series. Have a great week!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Mar 19, 2013 @ 10:04:13

      Oh I’m so excited to find someone else who loved The Passage! I haven’t really run across to many other people who have (probably because it’s so long). I’d recommend reading The Twelve for sure, but completely understand your desire to wait until the paperback comes out!

      Reply

  6. Trackback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2.0 | Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

