Red Lobster’s Cheddar Biscuits

I have to admit, I’m not the biggest fan of the restaurant Red Lobster. I like sea food and all, but I just haven’t found a dish there that I can’t live without. However, I DO really love their biscuits. My mom has a copy-cat recipe that she has made for years with baked potato soup, and I’ve experimented with several recipes from the Internet over the years. A few weeks ago when I made a batch of slow cooker potato soup I decided to make these biscuits to go with it.  So I did the usual internet search, and came across this recipe. It was different from many of the others (for instance it doesn’t call for Italian seasoning), and called for cold butter to increase the fluffiness of the biscuit. I was intrigued, so I went with this recipe. I’m really glad I did–these were AWESOME. They were light and fluffy, and had just the right amount cheese and garlic. This will probably be my recipe of choice from now on!

***

Red Lobster’s Cheddar Biscuits

From: Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 2 via ABCNews.com

Red Lobster Bisquits

Ingredients:

Biscuit:

2 ½ cups Bisquick baking mix

¾ cup cold whole milk

4 tablespoons cold butter (1/2 stick)

¼ teaspoon garlic powder

1 heaping cup grated cheddar cheese

To brush on top:

2 tablespoons butter, melted

¼ teaspoon dried parsley flakes

½ teaspoon garlic powder

pinch salt

Instructions:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Combine Bisquick with cold butter in a medium bowl using a pastry cutter or a large fork. You don’t want to mix too thoroughly. There should be small chunks of butter in there that are about the size of peas. Add 1/4 teaspoon garlic, cheddar cheese, and milk. Mix by hand until combined, but don’t over mix.

Drop approximately ¼-cup portions of the dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet using an ice cream scoop.

Bake for 15 to 17 minutes or until the tops of the biscuits begin to turn light brown.

When you take the biscuits out of the oven, melt 2 tablespoons butter is a small bowl in your microwave. Stir in ½ teaspoon garlic powder and the dried parsley flakes. Use a brush to spread this garlic butter over the tops of all the biscuits. Use up all of the butter. Makes one dozen biscuits.

Notes:

I don’t have a fancy pastry brush, so I had just spooned the top layer on the biscuits (as is evident in my picture). If you don’t have a brush, you might want to increase the amount to be “brushed” on top. Regardless of whether or not you have the proper kitchen utensils, these biscuits are delicious!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. momssmallvictories
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 11:53:41

    Yum. Thanks for the reminder, I have this recipe too and they are so easy to make and delicious. My family loves these and its probably been a year or more since I’ve made them!!

    Reply

  2. exlibrisheather
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 13:12:48

    I make them too often probably. 🙂 I especially love them in the winter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

