It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2.0

Hello everyone! I hope the beginning to your spring has been warmer and less snowy than mine! Today I am participating in a weekly meme hosted by Book Journey.

***

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Last week I had to return to the library but did not finish:

Clash of Kings

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

Time is out of joint. The summer of peace and plenty, ten years long, is drawing to a close, and the harsh, chill winter approaches like an angry beast. Two great leaders—Lord Eddard Stark and Robert Baratheon—who held sway over and age of enforced peace are dead…victims of royal treachery. Now, from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns, as pretenders to the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms prepare to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war.

As a prophecy of doom cuts across the sky—a comet the color of blood and flame—six factions struggle for control of a divided land. Eddard’s son Robb has declared himself King in the North. In the south, Joffrey, the heir apparent, rules in name only, victim of the scheming courtiers who teem over King’s Landing. Robert’s two brothers each seek their own dominion, while a disfavored house turns once more to conquest. And a continent away, an exiled queen, the Mother of Dragons, risks everything to lead her precious brood across a hard hot desert to win back the crown that is rightfully hers.

A Clash of Kings transports us into a magnificent, forgotten land of revelry and revenge, wizardry and wartime. It is a tale in which maidens cavort with madmen, brother plots against brother, and the dead rise to walk in the night. Here a princess masquerades as an orphan boy; a knight of the mind prepares a poison for a treacherous sorceress; and wild men descend from the Mountains of the Moon to ravage the countryside.

Uggg!!!! I HATE not being able to finish a book before the library reclaims it. In this instance, it wasn’t due to lack of effort or interest but merely time. Also, A Clash of Kings (COK) is a LONG book. I have been reading this series on my iPad which means I only get the book for two weeks before the library forcibly takes it back from me (no keeping it for a few extra days and paying a fine). I was able to read A Game of Thrones (GOT) in the allotted two weeks but I really had to commit to it. This time around, I didn’t have as much time (also I think the book might be longer) so I wasn’t able to finish it. I was about 2/3 of the way through before they took it back, but have already placed myself back on the waiting list.

ANYWAY. So far, I am enjoying COK at least as much as I did GOT if not more. As I mentioned in last week’s post, I saw season 1 and 2 of the HBO series before reading the books. For some reason I had a good memory for the events of season1 (GOT), but completely forgot most of what happened in season 2 (COK). Therefore, it has sort of been like I’ve been reading things for the first time which has made it more exciting for me.

I like how the plot becomes much more intricate and complicated in the second book, although there are times where I find myself asking questions like: “who is this guy again? What family is he from/which side is he on?” Similarly, every time the “Davos” chapter comes up there are a few moments where I’m frantically searching my mind trying to remember who he is.  I’m hopeful that I will get to finish the book soon (so I don’t forget everything), but we’ll see.

This week I am reading:

chaos-making-new-science-james-gleick-paperback-cover-art

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

Well as the old saying goes, “when life hands you lemons make lemonade.” The only good thing about COK getting recalled is that I get to start this book a little bit sooner. I will be reading this book for the popular science book club I participate in (with mostly other graduate students) at my university. Every quarter we pick a new book, and meet to discuss it. I like reading these books because they expose me to other scientific disciplines that I am less familiar with, but do so at a level that still allows me to still consider it “pleasure reading.” Previously, we’ve read books on cosmology, neuroscience, and paleontology, and now we get to explore chaos theory. This looks like a good read (it was a finalist for both the Pulitzer and the National Book Award), and I’m looking forward to starting it!

This week I am listening to:

The SistersSynopsis adapted from Goodreads:

Growing up in hardscrabble Kentucky in the 1920s, with their mother dead and their stepfather an ever-present threat, Bertie Fisher and her older sister Mabel have no one but each other—with perhaps a sweetheart for Bertie waiting in the wings.  But on the day that Bertie receives her eighth-grade diploma, good intentions go terribly wrong, setting off a chain of misunderstandings that will send the sisters on separate paths and reverberate through their daughters’ and granddaughters’ lives.

What happens when nothing turns out as you planned?  From the Depression through World War II and Vietnam, and smaller events both tragic and joyful. Bertie and Mabel forge unexpected identities and raise daughters—and sisters—of their own, learning that love and betrayal are even more complicated than they seem.  Gorgeously written, with extraordinary insight and emotional truth, Nancy Jensen’s debut novel illuminates the far-reaching power of family and family secrets.

I am almost done with this book, and will probably finish it this week. I have enjoyed reading it much more than expected. Of course it’s sad at times, but I’m very invested now in finding out what happens to the characters. I’m hoping for some kind of happy ending/resolution, but I’m not sure I will get that.

***

What are you reading this week?

It's Monday

Linking up with Book Journey!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iam Jenai
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 09:13:50

    Love the cover of THE SISTERS… nice. I like its simplicity.

    As for my reads, seemed like almost all of those books I’ve read the past months were all “jewels”! Love them all.

    Happy Reading!

    iamjenai

    Reply

  2. exlibrisheather
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 09:38:09

    It’s a beautiful cover isn’t it? Also, it’s very fitting for the book! I’m glad to hear that you’ve loved almost all of the books you’ve read the past few months. It is quite an accomplishment to have that long of a string of good reads! 🙂

    Reply

  3. therelentlessreader
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 09:44:26

    Oh rats! I hope it doesn’t take too long for your copy of Kings to get back to you!

    Have a great week 🙂

    Reply

  4. biblioglobal
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 11:22:52

    I remember finding Chaos on the shelves of my undergrad library and reading quite a lot of it before even making it to the checkout counter. It’s a fascinating book. Hope you enjoy it!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Mar 27, 2013 @ 14:54:35

      It’s really good so far. This book club has chosen a few other physics books in the past year so I wasn’t that jazzed about reading another one. However, I am really enjoying it–it’s in the running to be my favorite of all of the books we’ve read.

      Reply

  5. Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 13:40:29

    I wrote and kept a character list while reading Game of Thrones and Clash of Kings. I need to get to Storm of Swords, but won’t get to it before the new season of GOT on HBO. Hope you are able to get back to COK before too long. Have a great week.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Mar 27, 2013 @ 14:56:04

      That’s a great idea! 🙂 I know there is a list at the beginning of my e-book, but it’s just not that convenient to flip back and fourth. I should hand write out a list or maybe make a character map.

      Reply

  6. Eva
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 18:05:05

    Oooh haven’t read any of these! Thanks for sharing!

    My Monday Post

    Eva @ All Books Considered

    Reply

  7. diggingher
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 20:10:43

    Hmm, reading Behind the beautiful forevers- a difficult read for me. Almost done listening to China Road- quite interesting and am working my way through balancing your hormones, balancing your life- which is very informative. Plus my many blogs and a new text for class.

    Reply

  8. exlibrisheather
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 15:03:46

    Was it a slow read but a worthwhile one for you? It looks like it might be an eye opening read. Also China Road sounds like an interesting book, and I’m going to add it to my TBR list.

    Reply

  9. littlebearries
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 22:01:14

    I love Martin’s series… I’m a huge fan of his changing perspectives every chapter.

    I hope you get a chance to check it out again!

    http://littlesqueed.blogspot.com/2013/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_25.html

    Reply

  10. Trackback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6.0 | Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

