It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3.0

Hello everyone and Happy Monday! I’m posting this a bit early because I also want to re-cap my trip home to Kansas in a different link-up today. I guess it’s a good thing that I have a lot to blog about right now…maybe I am finally out of my blogging slump!

***

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Last week I finished:


The Sisters

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

Growing up in hardscrabble Kentucky in the 1920s, with their mother dead and their stepfather an ever-present threat, Bertie Fisher and her older sister Mabel have no one but each other—with perhaps a sweetheart for Bertie waiting in the wings. But on the day that Bertie receives her eighth-grade diploma, good intentions go terribly wrong, setting off a chain of misunderstandings that will send the sisters on separate paths and reverberate through their daughters’ and granddaughters’ lives.

What happens when nothing turns out as you planned? From the Depression through World War II and Vietnam, and smaller events both tragic and joyful. Bertie and Mabel forge unexpected identities and raise daughters—and sisters—of their own, learning that love and betrayal are even more complicated than they seem. Gorgeously written, with extraordinary insight and emotional truth, Nancy Jensen’s debut novel illuminates the far-reaching power of family and family secrets.

Overall I liked this book. Admittedly it was sad at parts and the main characters go through trial after trial, but the story was beautifully told and felt very true to real life. As indicated in the synopsis, this book explores how secrets can cause misunderstandings that have grave consequences on our closest relationships. I think Jensen does a nice job of showing how secrets can create an invisible wall between people. The characters in this novel sense that there is something that separates them and keeps them from connecting on a deeper level (which they all seem to crave), yet they also resist doing anything to fix it. There are so many chances in this story for the two main characters to make amends but frustratingly (for me at least) this never really happens. It’s not that I needed the story to have a Disney ending (where everyone lives happily ever after), but I was hoping for a more satisfying conclusion after becoming invested in the characters lives. 3/5 stars.

This week I am reading:

chaos-making-new-science-james-gleick-paperback-cover-art

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

I am loving this so far! It’s by far my favorite read from the popular science book club I am a part of. I knew very little about chaos theory before picking this one up, but I am really enjoying learning about it! Gleick does a really nice job of making the history and theory of choas both simple and interesting. I think both scientists and non-scientists can enjoy this one–honestly!

This week I am listening to:

The_Book_Thief

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

I’ve heard sooooooo many good things about this book and am enjoying it thus far. I might finish it this week, but I also don’t want to rush too quickly through it. This is one of those reads I want to take my time with.

***

What are you reading this week?

It's Monday

Linking up with Book Journey!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bookgoil
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 09:29:56

    I really love The Book Thief. I’ve read it at least 3 times. Hope you enjoy it!

    The Monster Report

    Reply

  2. Wendy
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 09:31:29

    The Book Thief is brilliantly written. In my top 10 favourites. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 12:31:42

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m reading The Book Thief on e-reader. I’d say its awesome on audio. Like I said I really don’t want it to end its that good, its so good I’m going to have to buy a copy for my book shelf !

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 13:17:59

    Sigh…The Book Thief. What can I say about that book that hasn’t been said? It’s a triumph!!

    Reply

  5. Vicki
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 14:54:18

    Wow!! The Sisters sound so good!!
    Here’s My Post

    Reply

  6. Eva
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 14:55:59

    Oh The Book Thief is great! I am also intrigued by the book you just finished reading, thanks for sharing!!

    New follower via e-mail

    My Monday Post

    Eva @ All Books Considered

    Reply

  7. Melinda
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 03:24:03

    How are you finding The Book Thief so far? I’ve read so many good reviews, and I’ve tried the book – I read a kindle sample, but for some reason I didn’t find it interesting…

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Apr 04, 2013 @ 10:32:28

      I am enjoying it for sure. If I have to be 100% honest though, it’s a little bit slower going for me than I thought it would be. I’m listening to it which is really nice. I’ve noticed that when I’m listening I want to keep listening, but then when I stop I forget about it for a few days. I don’t know if that says something about the book or just my attention span right now. LOL.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

