This Weekend, I… 3.0

What a whirlwind of a week! I spent Tuesday-Saturday morning in Kansas, and returned to Chicago Saturday afternoon. The plan was for me to come home to visit my hometown dentist after getting “sticker shock” from the Chicago dentist I saw earlier in the year (more on that another day). Fortunately my appointment fell during the week of my mother’s birthday, which meant I was able to fix my teeth AND hang out with my mom on her birthday (for the first time in many years). I had a really great trip (even the dentist office wasn’t so bad), and I’m really glad I got to spend time with my mom on her birthday!

***

This weekend, I got a manicure with my mom for her birthday

photo(2)

I decided that this year I wanted to do something with my mom for her birthday since I was actually in town. So, we went and got manicures together on her birthday. Scheduling the manicure was a bit tricky because we were planning to go to Kansas City that evening, and Mom had already expressed that she didn’t want to get there too late. Since I wanted the manicure to be a surprise the day of her birthday, Dad told mom he would paint the living room while Mom and I had lunch. Luckily, she really wanted the living room painted, so she readily agreed (even though it would mean we would get to KC a bit late). Thanks for taking one for the team Dad!

Mom and I had a great afternoon together, and as you can see the manicures came out great!

This weekend, I helped celebrate my mom’s birthday with a dinner at Buca di Beppo

photo(6)-edited

This is a really awful picture of me but is the only good one of the rest of the group. You’re welcome guys.

 After we checked into the hotel in Kansas City, we headed to Buca di Beppo for dinner. It’s one of my family’s favorite places to eat Italian food, although we don’t get to go there often since the closest location is in Kansas City. My uncle Joe was even able to join us for dinner! The dinner was delicious (I ate wayyyy too much) and it was really nice catching up with Joe!

This weekend, I visited the Power and Light District with my parents for Mom’s birthday

photo(5)

After dinner, my parents and I headed to the Power and Light district to watch some basketball. I haven’t spent anytime in downtown Kansas City for YEARS and I was amazed at how much it has changed!!! We were able to walk (safety) from the hotel to the bar district, and I was so impressed with how the city has revitalized this area! Our first (and only stop) was at Johnny’s Tavern. I can’t say the service was particularly great nor I was I thrilled about having to pay $8 for my boulevard beer (geez I thought I had left the Chicago prices behind me!!!!), but there were plenty of televisions around to catch all the action!

During a lull in one of the games, I reminded my parents that not only was this mom’s birthday but it was also the anniversary of the night they met (the 34th anniversary of that night to be exact). They met on my mom’s 18th birthday at a bar which was hosting ladies’ night (classy Dad), and 34 years later they are still together. Awww aren’t they so cute??? 🙂

This weekend, I enjoyed a relaxing morning in Kansas City

photo(4)

Friday morning we had a nice, relaxing breakfast at the hotel. Afterwards, we hung out in the hotel room for a bit. I read the newspaper, and we enjoyed this really great view of downtown Kansas City!

***

I hope everyone had a great weekend! Linking up with Sarah!

TWI

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 15:53:37

    Sounds like a great weekend!! My daughter and I go for medi & pedi’s for special occasions too!
    Happy Belated Birthday to your mom!

    Reply

  2. exlibrisheather
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 10:30:16

    Thanks! It was a great weekend! That was the first time I’ve ever done that with mom but it was really fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

