It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 4.0

Happy Monday everyone! Welcome to another edition of “It’s Monday! What are you reading?” Last week was a long, grueling week and I found myself too exhausted to read Chaos after a long day at school. So I picked up a nice, light diversion read instead. While it won’t be one of my favorite reads of the year it did allow me to escape for a few hours…so I’d say it definitely did its job!

***

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Last week I finished:


Ten-Things-I-Love-About-You

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

Annabel Winslow is in a pickle. Having newly arrived in London for her first season and being in possession of a voluptuous figure, is being openly courted the the Earl of Newbury, who is at least 75 and a nasty brute to boot. Annabel does not want to marry him, of course, but feels that she has no choice since her father has recently died and left the whole family, including Annabel’s mother her 7 siblings, almost destitute.

Then, while attending a party in the countryside, Annabel met Sebastian Grey, the Earl of Newbury’s nephew. And suddenly she found herself not only courted by the lecherous uncle, but also the charming young nephew. Should she follow her heart so that she can be with the one she loves, or should she marry the loathsome earl just so she can put food on the table for her family and make sure that her brothers get to stay in school?

Midweek I decided I needed a break from the other (heavier) reads I have been working through. I am enjoying them both, but wanted something lighter to get me through the week. I’ve had this one on my shelf for a while, and it seemed like as good of a time as any to read this one. I’d read and enjoyed the other two books in the Bevelstoke series (The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever, and What Happens in London) so I was excited to finally read this one.

My overall reaction? Meh…it was o.k. I enjoyed reading it, and to be fair I read the whole thing in about 48 hours. However, I just don’t feel like this was one of the better books Julia Quinn (JQ) has published (and I think I’ve read nearly every single one). For starters, this book had a lot of dialogue (much of it internal dialogue), but not much else really happened. There weren’t even very many party/social sequences in the book, which is usually a JQ staple (and provides good opportunities to advance the plot).  I mean the most action-packed scene in the book involves the 75 year old uncle throwing a punch at his nephew…who doesn’t fight back. I still love JQ and will keep reading her books, this one just wasn’t my favorite. 2.5/5 stars.

This week I am reading:

chaos-making-new-science-james-gleick-paperback-cover-art

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

I am still really enjoying this book. I’ve found it’s started to make me think differently about some of my own research (not that I am studying anything close to chaos theory) and science in general. It’s been a really eye-opening read. I’m looking forward to finishing it!

This week I am listening to:

The_Book_Thief

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

I’ll admit–this is a bit of a slower read for me than I thought it would be. When I’m listening to it, I really enjoy it. But when I put it down, I’m not always that excited to start it back up again. I’m not sure why that is. Admittedly, I do think the first bit of the book is probably just a little slow and now that Liesel is a little older I am enjoying it much more. Sometimes I even find myself laughing aloud at some of the more light-hearted moments (mostly moments between her foster mother and father). I’m pretty sure I’ll finish it this week.

***

What are you reading this week?

It's Monday

Linking up with Book Journey!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abbey
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 11:50:49

    I loooved The Book Thief. For some reason the slow start didn’t bother me, although that critique is all over goodreads. Hope you end up enjoying it overall!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 08:33:53

      I’m glad to hear it isn’t just me. Like I said I AM enjoying it just not as much as I thought I would. Granted this frequently happens to me with books I read that are massively hyped…maybe I put so much pressure on myself to like it that it keeps me from enjoying it.

      Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 12:48:08

    Now and then you need one of those lighter reads. They are like a literary palate cleanser 😉 I hope you fall in love with The Book Thief like so many others (including me!) have. It’s a wonderful book!

    Have a fab week!

    Reply

  3. Lindsey
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 20:34:11

    Chaos sounds like a great read. I always mean to pick up some science reads, but I get distracted by all of the interesting novels!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 08:35:48

      LOL. I have the same problem even when I’m reading an interesting science read. I always learn so much and I’m always glad that I did it when I finish one…but the allure of flashy novels is hard to resist!

      Reply

  4. Charlotte
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 13:06:08

    I am reading Knots nd Crosses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

