Top Ten Favorite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger

Happy Tuesday! Today I am participating in Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

***

Most weeks I have a really hard time thinking of ten things to include in my Top Ten list. That was not the case this week! When I saw this topic I was really excited because I knew it was one I could easily finish. I like the idea of going back in my reading reserve to the time before I was a blogger because I’ve only been a blogger for about a year but I’ve been reading for about the past 20 years. So without further ado and in no particular order..

Top Ten Favorite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger:

1. The World is Flat by Thomas L. Friedman

the_world_is_flat

I read this book soon after it was published while working my first internship for a major corporation. I remember how amazed I was that I was observing the things he described in his book (specifically the phenomenon known as in-shoring) as a 20 year old eating lunch at her desk in Kansas. The information in this book is probably somewhat dated now so it might be hard for a reader in 2013 to comprehend why I loved this book so much, but when it was published in 2005 it was pretty exciting (at least for me).

2. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

anna-karenina

Say what you will about Anna (as a character) but I still think this book is both epic and beautifully written. I remember feeling a real sense of accomplishment when I finished this one.

3. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

200px-A_Thousand_Splendid_Suns

I had never heard of Hosseini or The Kite Runner when I picked up this book at the library on a whim. I had no idea what to expect, and this beautiful and sad novel completely blew me away. I have since read The Kite Runner, and while I did absolutely love it it just didn’t have the same effect for me as this one did. There is something almost magical about picking up a book on a whim that is hard to recreate once you have set expectations.

4. Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

belcanto_large

I absolutely loved this beautiful and unique novel. I had never really read much (or maybe even heard of) about Stockholm Syndrome before I read this novel, but I found Patchett’s exploration of it fascinating.

5. Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Little House Books

I loved these books SO MUCH growing up. Santa Claus brought me these books for Christmas as a little girl, and I credit them with sparking my love of reading. I’ve read all of them more times than I can count, and many of them are now held together with scotch tape. It only takes one look at my Little House collection to see that they have been well loved.

6. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

prideandprejudice

This was the first Jane Austen book I ever read and still probably my favorite. I’ve read this book so many times, and I find something new to love about it every time!

7. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

age of innoence

I loved this book from the first sentence. I think Wharton does a great job of creating very human characters, and exploring the fine line between personal freedom and societal expectations.

8. Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi

reading-lolita-in-tehran

I thought this was a fantastic book about the power of literature to comfort you and change you. It moved me more than any other book I read that year.

9. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

harry-potter-series

What can I say about this series that hasn’t already been said? I loved these books when I first read them, I love them still.

10. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

The-Time-Travelers-Wife-by-Audrey-Niffenegger2

I loved this unique story when I first read it, but I have been really surprised by how much it has stuck with me.

***

What are the favorite books you read before becoming a blogger?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books)
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 14:33:57

    Oh my goodness, I used to LOVE the Little House books. I read all of them several times over. Now, my 11 yo daughter loves them and that makes me really, really happy 🙂

    Happy TTT!

    Reply

  2. tinalinatime
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 16:21:17

    Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book of all time. No one does it better than good old Jane Austen! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Jen Pace
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 16:55:31

    i loved the Little House on the Prairie books too! i think i liked splendid suns better than the kite runner because it was told from a woman’s POV

    Reply

  4. Kristen H. (@bookgoil)
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 19:06:48

    I LOVED Bel Canto as well, so great to see it on someone else’s list.

    My Top Ten

    Reply

  5. Paperback Princess (@PBack_Princess)
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 15:53:49

    Great list of books.

    My Top Ten

    Have a great week!

    Reply

  6. latenightswithgoodbooks
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 21:46:53

    I’ve read nearly all of these (that always makes me feel accomplished when viewing lists like this!). Definitely plan on reading Anna Karenina soon, but it’s just so daunting. Loove Edith Wharton’s works, Jane Austen, and of course HP!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Apr 11, 2013 @ 10:55:02

      LOL I know the feeling. It always makes me a little sad when I look at one of these lists and haven’t read (or heard) or any of the books. I hope you enjoy AK…it’s kind of epically long but worth it!

      Reply

  7. mylifeapancake
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 12:10:36

    Great list! I read Anna Karenina last year and felt exactly the same way. I keep looking at War and Peace in the library but I don’t think I’m ready for that type of reading commitment yet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

