It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5.0

Happy Monday everyone! It’s time for another installment of “It’s Monday! What Are you Reading?”

***

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Last week I finished:


The_Book_Thief

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.

This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

I finally finished The Book Thief and I am so glad I did. As I noted in previous weeks, this book got off to a REALLY slow start for me. I enjoyed it while I was reading it, but I just didn’t feel the conviction to pick it back up once I’d put it down. Honestly it wasn’t until the last 1/3 of the book that I got REALLY into it. Everyone told me how great they thought this book was and I kept waiting to have my “aha!” moment…it did finally come, but sheesh it took awhile! Minor spoiler ahead…if you haven’t read the book you might want to skip on to the next section…

I think the most poignant moment for me in this book occurred during the first air raid when Death was pondering whether or not the Germans in the fallout shelter were pitiable (especially in comparison to the Jewish prisoners in the concentration camps). This is something I’ve thought of myself before when reading these types of books since not every German citizen during that period was a member of the Nazi party or subscribed to Hitler’s doctrine. Ultimately I agree with Death’s analysis (i.e. Zusak’s words) that while the German citizens huddled in that basement were worthy of pity, the real sorrow should be reserved for the Jewish people imprisoned in the camps.

Overall, this book really moved me. It got off to very slow start, but made up for it with a fantastic (albeit very sad) ending. 4/5 stars.

This week I am reading:

chaos-making-new-science-james-gleick-paperback-cover-art

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

Yes, I am STILL reading this book. I am really enjoying it…it’s just taking me longer to get this one finished (mostly due to my busy schedule). I have about 100 pages left, so it’s possible I’ll finish it this week.

This week I am listening to:

The-bungalow-cover

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

In the summer of 1942, twenty-one-year-old Anne Calloway, newly engaged, sets off to serve in the Army Nurse Corps on the Pacific island of Bora-Bora. More exhilarated by the adventure of a lifetime than she ever was by her predictable fianc, she is drawn to a mysterious soldier named Westry, and their friendship soon blossoms into hues as deep as the hibiscus flowers native to the island. Under the thatched roof of an abandoned beach bungalow, the two share a private world-until they witness a gruesome crime, Westry is suddenly redeployed, and the idyll vanishes into the winds of war.

A timeless story of enduring passion, The Bungalow chronicles Anne’s determination to discover the truth about the twin losses-of life, and of love-that have haunted her for seventy years.

After the heaviness and slow pace of The Book Thief this novel has been a very welcome change. I’ve probably listened to more of it today than I listened to of The Book Thief in like a week. I’m really enjoying it so far, and I am almost positive I will finish it this week. On a side note: isn’t this a beautiful cover?

***

What are you reading this week?

It's Monday

Linking up with Book Journey!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 09:02:45

    That IS a beautiful cover, I hope you continue to enjoy the book! Can you believe I’ve never listened to an audiobook in all my days?

    Have a great week of reading!!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Apr 15, 2013 @ 13:18:47

      I was just thinking back that until a year ago I’d never listened to an audiobook either. It took me awhile to get used to at first, but now I can’t imagine NOT listening to an audiobook. There are still some books I prefer to read the old fashioned way, but I have really grown to appreciate that audio format!

      Reply

  2. joyweesemoll
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 10:05:25

    The Book Thief is another book that it seems like everyone but me has read. I’m glad to know that it may be a slow start — I’ll be sure to stick it out!

    Reply

  3. Andra Watkins
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 15:54:47

    Loved The Book Thief. I am reading The Red Kimono right now.

    Reply

  4. Lindsey
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 20:59:17

    The Bungalow makes me want to find the nearest beach and lounge in the sand with a book and a fruity drink. I hope you love the rest of it! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

