It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6.0

Last week was busy, busy, busy (as is probably indicated by my lack of posting). However I did manage to listen to all of The Bungalow, which seems like a pretty good accomplishment to me!

One of the low points of the week, which I’ll call The Great iPod Disaster of 2013, occurred Saturday afternoon. I had just transferred another audiobook onto my iPod and then proceeded to eject the iPod from the computer (via iTunes). Everything seemed o.k. until I unplugged it from my computer and realized that both the iPod and iTunes were frozen. What followed was a lot of troubleshooting and a few curse words. To make a long story short, I had to restore the iPod to factory settings which kind of sucked because I lost about 10 audiobooks in the process since these are transferred directly to the iPod from my library’s software and are not saved in my iTunes library. It’s not the end of the world I know, but it was kind of frustrating to lose my little collection after such a long week. Luckily I had just checked out four from the library so I do still have something to listen to.

O.k. rant over…It’s time for another installment of “It’s Monday! What Are you Reading?”

***

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Last week I finished:

The-bungalow-cover

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

In the summer of 1942, twenty-one-year-old Anne Calloway, newly engaged, sets off to serve in the Army Nurse Corps on the Pacific island of Bora-Bora. More exhilarated by the adventure of a lifetime than she ever was by her predictable fiance, she is drawn to a mysterious soldier named Westry, and their friendship soon blossoms into hues as deep as the hibiscus flowers native to the island. Under the thatched roof of an abandoned beach bungalow, the two share a private world-until they witness a gruesome crime, Westry is suddenly redeployed, and the idyll vanishes into the winds of war.

A timeless story of enduring passion, The Bungalow chronicles Anne’s determination to discover the truth about the twin losses-of life, and of love-that have haunted her for seventy years.

I really liked this book–it carried me away to another time and place during a week in which I really needed it. It was well written and the plot moved quickly enough to keep me entertained the whole time.

Minor spoilers ahead…you might want to skip the next paragraph if you haven’t read the novel.

I did think the character development could use some work. For instance, Anne’s character just seemed a little too naive to me (it really took her WAY too long to figure some of that stuff out). I also found the character of Gerard to be somewhat unrealistic–I mean is anyone really that passive or that big of a pushover? Additionally, I felt like Jio could have expanded more on some of the subplots as most of these felt very unfinished to me (like what the heck happened to her mother after NYC, or what the deal was with Mary and that Edward guy)

Overall, I really enjoyed the novel. 3.5/5 stars.

This week I am reading:

chaos-making-new-science-james-gleick-paperback-cover-art

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

Yup. I’m still reading this. As I mentioned above, I was reallllllyyy busy last week and just didn’t have a lot of time to sit and read. I am motivated to finish it though because its due date at the library is coming up soon!

Clash of Kings

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

Time is out of joint. The summer of peace and plenty, ten years long, is drawing to a close, and the harsh, chill winter approaches like an angry beast. Two great leaders—Lord Eddard Stark and Robert Baratheon—who held sway over and age of enforced peace are dead…victims of royal treachery. Now, from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns, as pretenders to the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms prepare to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war.

As a prophecy of doom cuts across the sky—a comet the color of blood and flame—six factions struggle for control of a divided land. Eddard’s son Robb has declared himself King in the North. In the south, Joffrey, the heir apparent, rules in name only, victim of the scheming courtiers who teem over King’s Landing. Robert’s two brothers each seek their own dominion, while a disfavored house turns once more to conquest. And a continent away, an exiled queen, the Mother of Dragons, risks everything to lead her precious brood across a hard hot desert to win back the crown that is rightfully hers.

I finally got this one back on loan from the library (after it was electronically reclaimed last time)!!! I left off on about Chapter 50, so I’m very confident I can finish this before the allotted two weeks are up. I’m excited to finish this one so I can move onto book 3, which will be completely new for me since I have avoided watching season 3 of Game of Thrones (so far).

This week I am listening to:

Wolf Hall

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

England in the 1520s is a heartbeat from disaster. If the king dies without a male heir, the country could be destroyed by civil war. Henry VIII wants to annul his marriage of twenty years and marry Anne Boleyn. The pope and most of Europe opposes him. Into this impasse steps Thomas Cromwell: a wholly original man, a charmer and a bully, both idealist and opportunist, astute in reading people, and implacable in his ambition. But Henry is volatile: one day tender, one day murderous. Cromwell helps him break the opposition, but what will be the price of his triumph?

I’ve read many books about Henry VIII’s reign, and so far this is one of the most unique and well written that I’ve come across. I only started it yesterday, but I am really enjoying it so far.

***

What are you reading this week?

It's Monday

Linking up with Book Journey!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Book Blather
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 09:47:07

    Hilary Mantel won the Booker Prize for both books in this series, so I’m not surprised they’re well written. 🙂 The Bungalow has a wonderful atmosphere to its synopsis, I’m sorry the book itself was a bit disappointing – I hate loose ends too. I really need to start Martin’s books because I like the tv series so much, but I’ve heard conflicting things about the writing (but not the storyline, of course). Also, I’m worried it would ruin the tv show for me… What have you found? Have a great reading week!

    Reply

  2. exlibrisheather
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 13:57:25

    Well I’m not to the point yet where I’ve read more of the series than I have seen of the tv show. For me personally, I prefer to be not know what’s coming when I’m reading versus when I’m watching a t.v./movie. So I imagine for me I’ll be o.k. with knowing what’s coming in the t.v. show. But that could just be me…I hope you have a great week of reading too!

    Reply

  3. Holly Mueller
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 14:49:24

    The Bungalow looks good! I tried Wolf Hall, and I know I should have loved it, but I thought it was too similar to The Other Boleyn Girl, and I loved that one a lot!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Apr 24, 2013 @ 09:45:26

      I read and enjoyed The Other Boleyn Girl as well. I can see how they might have been too similar for you though (since they cover the same time period) but I’m enjoying this one since it focuses mostly on Cromwell who I don’t really remember from OBG. Admittedly, It’s been many years since i read it though…

      Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 19:19:25

    The Great iPod Disaster of 2013 <~~ Love that, lol. Not that it happened to you though of course! I hope you continue to enjoy the Mantel. I liked the next one (Bring up the Bodies) even better 🙂

    Have a fantastic week!

    Reply

  5. Lindsey
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 20:45:54

    I’ve been meaning to tackle Wolf Hall but I’m a bit intimidated by its size! Somehow it never occurred to me to pick up the audiobook.
    Happy Reading!

    Reply

  6. Charlotte
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 11:48:10

    Just finished reading Knots and Crosses and started Haunted Grounds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

