Peanut Butter Bars

My two great food loves are Peanut Butter and Avocado (although not necessarily together). Whenever there is an entree at a restaurant that has either of these two ingredients listed, there is a good chance I’ll order it. A few weeks ago I was having a serious craving for some sort of peanut butter desert.  I remembered eating these bars as a kid, but couldn’t remember the last time I’d had one as an adult. A quick internet search showed me that these are still a very popular (and easy to make!) dessert item. After making them (and eating them) I have some good news and bad news for you. The good news is that they are still just as delicious as I remembered them being. The bad news is also that they are just as delicious as I remember them being. My advice is to make them for an event so you don’t end up eating them all yourself!

***

Peanut Butter Bars

Adapted from: All Recipes.com

Peanut Butter Bars

Ingredients:

1 cup butter or margarine melted

2 cups graham cracker crumbs

2 cups confectioners’ sugar

1 cup + 4 tablespoons peanut butter

1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Instructions:

In a medium bowl, mix together the butter or margarine, graham cracker crumbs, confectioners’ sugar, and 1 cup peanut butter until well blended.

Press evenly into the bottom of an ungreased 9×13 inch pan.

Melt the chocolate chips with the remaining 4 tablespoons of peanut butter, stirring occasionally until smooth.

Spread over the prepared crust.

Refrigerate for at least one hour before cutting into squares.

Notes:

I loved these and will definitely be making them again!

Leave a Reply

