It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8.0

Hey Everyone! I hope you had a great weekend. It’s time for another installment of “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

***

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Last week I finished:

Clash of Kings

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

Time is out of joint. The summer of peace and plenty, ten years long, is drawing to a close, and the harsh, chill winter approaches like an angry beast. Two great leaders—Lord Eddard Stark and Robert Baratheon—who held sway over and age of enforced peace are dead…victims of royal treachery. Now, from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns, as pretenders to the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms prepare to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war.

As a prophecy of doom cuts across the sky—a comet the color of blood and flame—six factions struggle for control of a divided land. Eddard’s son Robb has declared himself King in the North. In the south, Joffrey, the heir apparent, rules in name only, victim of the scheming courtiers who teem over King’s Landing. Robert’s two brothers each seek their own dominion, while a disfavored house turns once more to conquest. And a continent away, an exiled queen, the Mother of Dragons, risks everything to lead her precious brood across a hard hot desert to win back the crown that is rightfully hers.

In many ways I think I liked Clash of Kings better than Game of Thrones. For starters, I know I remembered less of season 2 of Game of Thrones than season 1 which I think enhanced the reading experience for me. Also, I think reading about the characters as opposed to just watching them on television has helped me become more invested in them as well. In any case, I enjoyed reading book 2 and look forward to reading book 3! 4/5 stars.

This week I am reading:

persuasion

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

In her final novel, as in her earlier ones, Jane Austen uses a love story to explore and gently satirize social pretensions and emotional confusion. Persuasion follows the romance of Anne Elliot and naval officer Frederick Wentworth. They were happily engaged until Anne’s friend, Lady Russell, persuaded her that Frederick was “unworthy.” Now, eight years later, Frederick returns, a wealthy captain in the navy, while Anne’s family teeters on the edge of bankruptcy. They still love each other, but their past mistakes threaten to keep them apart. Austen may seem to paint on a small canvas, but her characters contain the full range of human passion and moral complexity, and the author’s generous spirit renders them all with understanding, compassion, and humor.

I’m excited to FINALLY read the last of Jane Austen’s novels. I’ve loved all of her novels, and I’m sure this will be no different. I’m also happy to be reading another classic book this year…admittedly I’ve been reading a lot of contemporary fiction lately!

This week I am listening to:

Wolf Hall

Synopsis adapted from Goodreads:

England in the 1520s is a heartbeat from disaster. If the king dies without a male heir, the country could be destroyed by civil war. Henry VIII wants to annul his marriage of twenty years and marry Anne Boleyn. The pope and most of Europe opposes him. Into this impasse steps Thomas Cromwell: a wholly original man, a charmer and a bully, both idealist and opportunist, astute in reading people, and implacable in his ambition. But Henry is volatile: one day tender, one day murderous. Cromwell helps him break the opposition, but what will be the price of his triumph?

I’m still really enjoying this book. I bet I will finish it this week! In other news, I was able to check out the audioversion of Bring Up the Bodies so I will be ready to move on in the series when I finish Wolf Hall!

***

What are you reading this week?

It's Monday

Linking up with Book Journey!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. biblioglobal
    May 06, 2013 @ 08:22:42

    Enjoy Persuasion! It’s one of my favorite Austen novels. I’m always jealous of people who are getting to read an Austen novel for the first time. I guess I could read Sanditon or The Watsons.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      May 07, 2013 @ 16:53:12

      I know I’m kind of sad this will be my last “first” time. I guess I should have said the finished novels. I wonder if it’s hard to get a copy of Sanditon or The Watsons…

      Reply

  2. Erin@Quixotic Magpie
    May 06, 2013 @ 09:10:55

    I love Game of Thrones! I am behind on the books though – I have read the first two in the series but that is it. I think I will tackle the third this summer. 🙂

    Have a great week!

    Reply

  3. samantha1020
    May 06, 2013 @ 19:25:11

    I’ve never read anything by Austen (I know, it is horrible) but I really hope to at some point this year. I hope you enjoy these books 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

