Memorial Day Weekend Recap

Yes, you read that title right. This blog post will be a recap of events that happened about a month and a half ago. I’m sorry to not be posting about current events, but this is my blog so I can do what I want 😛 In all seriousness, I really do want to post about this particular weekend because my family and I live very far apart and we don’t get to spend that much time together. Thus, any time we do get to spend together is memorable and important to me. So that’s that.

As I’m sure you’ve gleaned by now, my parents and sister Jen came to visit Chicago over Memorial Day weekend. We all stayed in my apartment (and survived the experience) and had a nice time together. I was actually somewhat on top of things back then and actually did a good job of documenting the experience in pictures. Thus, this post is somewhat of a photo dump, but I’ve tried to include my remembrances as well.

***

Wednesday May 22-Thursday May 23

Jen arrived in town late Wednesday evening so we just hung out around my apartment. Not long after we got back to my place I discovered a large spider on the ceiling which my tough lil sis took care of for me. She definitely earned her keep.

The next morning I had a meeting at school, so I took J to with me and introduced her to my friends and co-workers. She was a good sport and even got in some good laughs telling stories about us growing up. For lunch we had some delicious stir fry Flat Top Grill, and after that we went for a cold, windy walk around campus. I rarely see the waves like this on Lake Michigan:

photo(31)

After our cold walk on campus we went for dinner at Celtic Knot. We were both tired after a long day of walking around school and campus, so we just hung out at my apartment in the evening.

Friday May 24

Mom and dad arrived in town around lunch time so we headed over to the Firehouse Grill for lunch. After lunch we mostly ran errands and put in the window AC units in my apartment (which is always a good time). For dinner, we went to Dave’s Italian Kitchen. I had never been there before, and I was surprised by how delicious and affordable it was.

photo(9)

Saturday May 25

Saturday morning we got up early to get my car serviced, and went to the farmer’s market while waiting for my car. It was sort of a cold morning so we didn’t stay too long. We had lunch at the always delicious Noodles and Company and dinner at That Little Mexican Cafe. And of course before bed Dad caught this lovely moment of sisterly love:

photo(1)-2

Sunday May 26

Saturday morning we got up early to have breakfast at The Dixie Kitchen. The Dixie Kitchen always serves good food but their breakfast is especially delicious. After breakfast we took a nice Sunday morning drive down Lakeshore Drive so Jen could get a feel for the beautiful Chicago skyline. After the drive we relaxed in my apartment for a few hours before heading into the city for the evening.

First we took the train down into the city to see “the Bean”

photo(8)

Awww aren’t we cute?

The Cloud Gate aka The Bean:

photo(5)

photo(4)

After enjoying our time at “the bean”, we got back on the train and headed over to Uno’s for dinner. It was a really nice afternoon (until the clouds moved in and it started raining…which luckily didn’t happen until AFTER we had finished eating) so we elected to eat outside (we also were avoiding the 1+ hour wait). Of course we can never pass up an opportunity for a good photo op:

photo(7)

Mom and Me

photo(6)

Dad and I

photo(3)

Dad and Jen

photo(2)

Jen and I

After dinner, we headed to The Second City to see Let Them Eat Choas. I always have a great time at The Second City and this night was no exception!

Monday May 27

On Monday morning, we said goodbye to Mom and Dad who spent the day driving home. After they left, Jen and I decided to have a Sister Day in the city.

First, we headed back into the city to take the Chicago River Architectural Tour. After hiking around Navy Pier for a bit, we finally found our boat. We even had time to snap a few pictures before the trip began:

photo(12)

photo(13)

As you can see, it was cloudy and quite chilly…not necessarily the best day for a boat tour but we made the best of it. Our tour guide was really entertaining and we got to see some pretty great sights:

photo

photo(14)

photo(15)

The Wrigley Building

photo(18)

Admittedly, all of these pictures came from the first half of the tour. For the second half of the tour they turned the boat around and the wind was DIRECTLY  in our faces, which made it really, really cold. I still tried to enjoy it and take it all in, but it was difficult after that. All in all I really enjoyed the tour and definitely recommend it to anyone who visits (or lives near) Chicago. My only advice: choose a warmer day.

After the boat tour, we headed to Quartino’s for dinner (and to warm up). Since it was early we were able to walk right in, which was really nice. I was too famished and cold to take pictures of our meal (I know bad, bad blogger) but trust me it was delicious. Luckily, I remembered to take a picture of our desssert, Torta al Cioccolato:

photo(20)

Mmmmmm…delicious!

***

All in all it was a really great trip and I’m so glad we were able to spend that time together! Maybe we can do it again some time, but next time we should have it at Jen’s house ;)!!!

Leave a Reply

