Thursday Thoughts 21.0

Happy Thursday everyone. Some thoughts on my mind today:

***

[1]

Work updates:

1) I gave a research talk to my group this week and I think it went pretty well. I spent a lot of time beforehand making figures (and re-making figures) and slides, but I think it paid off.

2) It’s time to start thinking about/preparing for my next research trip. I took a trip in late June (hence my lack of posting during the entire month of June) and it’s hard to believe the “late August” trip is already approaching. Seriously, where does the time go?! So for the next few weeks I’ll be busy prepping samples (and hoping they work).

[2]

A few weekends ago (time is really flying by folks) I attended my friend Kayla and Alex’s second “No Pants Pirate Party”.  For this party everyone dresses up in pirate garb, but cannot wear pants. Acceptable lower garments include shorts, skirts, swim trunks etc. As usual people came up with some pretty funny costumes (jorts were really popular this year) and everyone had a great time.

1074694_652679752926_1804680060_o

Arrrr!

[3]

Trivia is now over for the season, which makes me a little bit sad. However, we did get a chance to compete in the Chicago area (and National) league finals this weekend. The finals for the Chicago area were held at Derby, which despite being really far out of the way for us was a cool place.

1073686_10101900450493831_1163709987_o

They had a really nice brunch menu–I had a mimosa and the “hangover burrito” (which was a really large breakfast burrito).

1071354_10101900598088051_800946162_o

The ladies of team Tuesdays with Morrie

Unfortunately we didn’t win any of the prize money, BUT we did win a raffle prize ($25 gift certificate to a bar in Wrigleyville). Overall, we had a great time and it was a nice way to finish out the trivia season!

In other semi-sad news, the local bar which used to host the weekly trivia is no longer participating. This means we probably won’t play in the league this year 😦

[4]

After an atrocious cardio performance in June, I stepped it up and reclaimed some of my pride in July:

JulyI’m really happy I made my goal, and I definitely made it more of a priority this month (despite having a busy schedule). Even though it can be kind of tough sometimes to make the numbers, I’m still glad I’ve kept at this goal. I’ve noticed that tracking all of my numbers this year has really made me aware of the difference between how much I think I exercise and how much I actually exercise. I know that trying to make that 84 miles a month goal has really helped me to exercise more consistently.

[5]

The lovely and always interesting Sarah posted this yesterday, and it really hit home for me. In the past year I’ve gone through many changes and the things she says in this talk really highlight some of the things I’ve thought, felt and experienced.

Side note: I like TED talks but haven’t seen very many of them. Does anyone have any recommendations for other talks I should see?

***

Have a great weekend everyone!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Geoff W
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 09:39:32

    Sounds like a busy, but successful month!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

