Thursday Thoughts 22.0

Whoops took another blogging break! Now that the craziness of the summer research trips is over I should be blogging more frequently (I hope).

***

[1]

Work updates:

My, my my it has been a BUSY month of work for me. I spent most of the month of August preparing samples for a research trip. No really, I worked 20 out of the first 21 days of August…so when I say I spent “most of the month” I really mean it. It was definitely a roller coaster of a month. Some interesting things that happened:

1) During a Saturday session in the lab, I flushed my student identification card down the toilet. Yes, you read that correctly. It was one of those horrifying, slow motion moments that happen in life where you find yourself screaming “NOOOOO” but are powerless to stop the inevitable. What made the loss of the ID card particularly tragic (other than the $25 replacement fee) was the fact that I needed the card to get back to the instrument I was using in a user facility, which was locked since it was not core business hours. Also, since it was a Saturday (and who in their right mind works on a Saturday) the place was completely deserted. To make a long story short, I did eventually find a random passerby to let me in and was able to complete the work…but it sure was interesting there for a bit.

2) 3 days before I was set to leave on the research trip some of my samples were completely destroyed due to a really bad miscommunication between me and a collaborator. This forced me to push back my trip a few days AND re-make the samples. It was neither fun nor easy, but I did it.

I did eventually get to go on the research trip, and think we got some good data from it. Now begins the long process of analyzing and hopefully writing something up. I’ve been working on this project for a longggg time and I would REALLY like to finish it.

[2]

Some recent nail art:

August

Base/Top Coat: Sally Hansen Flawless

Nail Polish: Sally Hansen Back to the Fushia

Accent Nail: Sally Hansen Sun Kissed

[3]

Despite being pretty busy this month I managed to get in a decent amount of miles:

August

Obviously 58 miles is not the 84 I was hoping for…but considering how busy I was I think that’s pretty good! Listed also is my total for the year–nearly 645 miles! I’m pretty proud of that considering I have always been an infrequent exerciser. Clearly, documenting my miles and attempting to reach a 1000 miles for the year has been a successful way to achieve my “staying active” goal.

[4]

My trip to D.C. for work wasn’t all work this time (thank goodness). I took a bit of time off over the weekend to explore:

Old Town Alexandria, VA

IMG_0866

O.k. this isn’t Old Town but is taken along the Waterfront Walk which is accessible via Old Town

Mount Vernon

IMG_0875

Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

IMG_0896

[5]

Other random fun things I did while I wasn’t working in August:

1) Attended a fun game night at my friend Mark and Stacey’s:

IMG_0841

Kayla and I

2) Tapas at Cafe Ba Ba Reeba

IMG_0851

Sangria (and ‘cuse the poor quality photo)!

3) Attended another fantastic BBQ at my friend Dan’s (sadly no pictures were taken).

***

Have a great weekend everyone!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. biblioglobal
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 16:07:33

    That ID card story is classic! Glad you found someone to let you in.

    Reply

  2. Geoff W
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 09:03:42

    What system do you use to track your miles? I really like that chart.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Sep 06, 2013 @ 15:44:50

      I use The Daily Mile. I choose it because it’s also easy to track cardio other than running (alot of other “trackers” are very runner-centric). If your a runner, I know a lot of people like Map My Run.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Thursday Thoughts 23.0: Michael Buble Concert Edition | Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

