Spiced Beef Ragu Shells

Hey-o! I realized a few weeks ago that 1) it has been a while since I’ve done a recipe post, and 2) I actually use my blog’s recipe index frequently since I continue to cook the things I post. Thus, I decided it was time to get back to posting my favorite recipes!

I found this recipe in Good Housekeeping last year and only got around to making it last week. It was delicious and I will definitely be making it again!

***

Spiced Beef Ragu Shells

Adapted from: Good Housekeeping

Spiced Beef Ragu

Ingredients:

1 pound pasta shells

2 teaspoons olive oil

1 large onion, finely chopped

4 cloves garlic, chopped

Salt to taste

1 pounds ground beef

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoons ground coriander

1 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoons crushed red pepper

1 can(s) (28-ounce) crushed tomatoes

Instructions:

Heat large covered saucepot of water to boiling on high. Cook pasta as label directs (“al dente” was nice for this recipe).

Meanwhile, in large skillet, heat oil on medium-high. Add onion, garlic, and 1/8 teaspoon salt (optional I didn’t do this). Cook 5 minutes or until tender, stirring.

Stir in beef, cumin, coriander, cinnamon, red pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon salt (optional–I didn’t do this). Cook 3 minutes or until browned, stirring. Drain fat.

Stir in tomatoes; simmer 5 minutes or until ready to drain shells.

Drain shells; return to pot. Stir in beef sauce. Serve and enjoy!

Notes:

The original recipe called for ground lamb instead of ground beef (which I think would have been delicious) but I didn’t have any on hand. Additionally, 5 sprigs of mint (which should be added to the beef sauce after adding tomatoes) were called for, but again I didn’t have them in my pantry.

This recipe makes more than enough for one meal and the the leftovers reheat great!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 03:59:26

    Love this! I think I might have to try it with Quorn. 🙂 I can do a spag bol but it never has spices/herbs because I just wouldn’t know where to start, so this will be good for me, thanks honey! Glad you liked this one first time.

    Reply

  2. Geoff W
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 08:05:09

    That looks REALLY REALLY good.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Thursday Thoughts 24.0: September Recap | Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

