Thursday Thoughts 24.0: September Recap

Happy Thursday everyone! I’m busy gearing up for a visit from my parents this weekend, but before they get here I thought I’d quickly recap my September (I’m only a few days late :P).

***

[1]

I had a pretty successful September on the reading front. I really enjoyed all of these, especially The House of Mirth.

Books Read in September:

1) Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

2) The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton

3) The Astronaut Wives Club by Lily Koppel

4) Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

5) I Am Forbidden by Anouk Markovits

[2]

I did a fair amount of cooking in September and even finally got back in the habit of posting my favorite recipes on this blog!

Recipes Posted:

1) Spiced Beef Ragu Shells

2) Lasagna Soup in the Slow Cooker

[3]

September wasn’t my best month on the fitness front. I just really wasn’t able to get into the workout groove between burning my arm on the oven in a baking accident, and suffering from a lingering cold.

September

For the year I’m logged about 687ish miles, which means it’s going to be a race to the finish (literally) if I want to make my 1000 mile goal for the year. I haven’t given up hope yet, but I am going to have to get serious about the cardio this month (and not get sick again) if I want to make it.

[4]

I did a few simple manicures that I liked this month, but didn’t take pictures of them. The most complicated I attempted was a blue and white stripped accent nail manicure:

September

Base/Topcoat: Sally Hansen Flawless

Nail polish: Essie Bouncer It’s Me

Accent Nail: OPI Alpine Snow

[5]

Although I was busy with work, I did get to do some fun things in September:

1) Early in the month, I went home for the Michael Buble Concert:

IMG_0158

2) Last weekend I traveled to Homestead Orchard to go Apple Picking. It was a small, cute orchard in Woodstock, IL, and we were able to pick Blushing Golden, McIntosh, and Gala apples.

photo(2)

The weather was perfect and it wasn’t too crowded. All in all I brought home about 12 pounds worth of apples! Be on the lookout for some apple-related recipe posts as I get around to cooking delicious things with my apples!

3) Tuesdays with Morrie is back on the trivia circuit again. We had to find a new location for this season of trivia as our old bar unfortunately quit hosting. We’ve tried out two different spots, and I think we’ve found a keeper (although I personally have not been to this locale yet) 🙂

***

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

