Thursday Thoughts (On a Friday) 26.0

Whoops! I missed my Thursday post (again), so I’m doing it on Friday instead!

***

[1]

Last weekend I took a trip to the upper peninsula of Michigan. Honestly, I kind of expected it to already be a snow covered tundra by the time I got there (even though it was only mid October), so I was pleasantly surprised by the sights that awaited me. It was so pretty and scenic!

IMG_1022

We spent some of our time exploring the towns of Hancock and Houghton. We stopped in a coffee shop, and ate in a few of the cafes/restaurants. I was a big fan of this pretty (and tasty) hot chocolate:

IMG_0995

I also spent some time playing with my new favorite puppy, Snoop. It took us a bit of time to adjust to each other, but we quickly became friends:

IMG_0996

Throw me the toy already, human

As I mentioned above, I was SO surprised by how pretty it was outside. As someone who was not raised in a place with a lot of water, it was awesome to wake up to this view everyday:

IMG_1004

Initially, I was called to the window to see “a ship”, which I assumed was a sailboat or something. So you can image my surprise at seeing a giant ship (barge?) right out back. This giant ship/barge (clearly I’m an expert at using nautical terminology) brought a load of salt for the roads in the winter. It spent hours unloading:

IMG_1006

I guess a salt barge in itself isn’t that interesting, but it was kind of surprising to see it it literally right out the back door!

On Saturday we took a drive up the Brockway Mountain Drive to Brockway Mountain. It was a beautiful, sceanic drive with fantastic views of Lake Superior and Copper Harbor. We also saw a rainbow!

IMG_1031

It took like 50 tries to get one without me squinting

IMG_1025

Lake Superior

IMG_1034

Copper Harbor

Overall I had a great weekend–the UP (i.e. Upper Peninsula) totally exceeded my expectations!

[2]

Halloween Nail art:

October

Base/Top Coat: Sally Hansen Flawless

Nail polish: Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Sun Kissed

Nail Detail: Sally Hansen Midnight in NY

[3]

I suffered a sad loss this morning. My dependable Mr. Coffee stopped working after over 8 years of loyal service.

photo(10)

Yes I happened to be this coffee shirt

Honestly, I’m a little sad. It will be nice to get a new one, but I will miss the one that got me through undergrad, a stint at NASA, and most of grad school. Farewell Mr. Coffee, and thank you for helping me get through many a long day.

***

That’s it for now. Have a great weekend everyone and go Chiefs!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 18:11:04

    RIP Mr Coffee! Sorry for your loss honey. Snoop sounds amazing, speaking of… What a view to wake up to! I would definitely be interested in a copycat holiday one day. 🙂 Gorgeous halloween nails, love ’em.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Oct 27, 2013 @ 16:09:53

      I know it was so sad! I bought a (slightly) better Mr. Coffee yesterday to replace my first one. The upper peninsula was surprisingly beautiful, but they do get ALOT of snow. I’m going back in December so we’ll see if I still love it then…haha

      Reply

Leave a Reply

