Thursday Thoughts 30.0: December Recap

It seems like every time I turn around another month has gone by…December in particular was CRAZY. The first two-ish weeks were overtaken by work, work, and more work. Also, (as you’ll see) I went to a few holiday parties :P. Overall it’s been a great December (even though it went by too fast) and generally a fantastic year. 2013 TOTALLY made up for the rough patch I had in 2012. I can’t wait to see what 2014 has in store for me…but before I get too ahead of myself I’ll take a look back at December ’13.

***

[1]

Books read:

1. Beloved by Toni Morrison

2. Animal Farm by George Orwell

3. Enemies: A History of the FBI  by Tim Weiner

4. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe (almost finished)

I’m going to fall short of the 52 book goal I set for myself this year, but at 47 I’d still say I came awful close!

[2]

Well I’m going to fall short of the 1000 mile goal this year:

December

Obviously it’s a little disappointing to not meet this goal, but honestly I’m not that upset about it. This was the first year I’ve really stuck with any fitness goals I set for myself, and know that I was MUCH more active than I’ve been in previous years. So even though I didn’t meet the goal, I still feel like I accomplished what I set out to do (which was to be more active). I plan to set the same goal for myself next year…we’ll see how I do!

[3]

Fun things I did in December (and oh boy there were a lot of them!):

1) Attended The Graduate School Holiday Party

IMG_1103

Appetizers, live music, and socializing with good friends

2) Attended a holiday wine tasting

901425_675154353646_1503048305_o

Lovely ladies with Alex photobombing in the background

3) Played one last game of Battlestar Galactica in 2013

IMG_1118

4) Enjoyed a holiday party with my labmates

group-photo-13dec13

I’m lucky to work with a good group of people!

4) Traveled to my college town for a visit and got to enjoy tea OUTSIDE in December

IMG_1121

Beautiful Day in the ‘Ville

5) Enjoyed catching up with some lovely ladies I went to high school with

1005038_938496828300_1740725308_n

6) Had Christmas with my family at home

photo(15)

7) Went cross country skiing for the first time ever (and I didn’t die!)

IMG_1154

8) Enjoyed some quality time with this guy

IMG_1136

Oh hiiiiiiiiii

9) Saw lots and lots (and lots) of snow in the UP

IMG_1167

***

Hope you had a very happy holiday season and a great new year!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 18:18:35

    Your dog looks lovely and cross country skiing? What fun! I also read Beloved for the first time this year – now I just have to read the rest of her books… Have a wonderful 2014 (no 2012 repeats allowed!). 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Thursday Thoughts (on a Friday) 38.0: July-August Recap | Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

