My 2014 Reading Challenges

After the fun and mostly successful run I had with my 2013 reading challenges, I’ve decided to continue on with some 2014 reading challenges. In fact, this year I signed myself up for a few NEW reading challenges. I’m crazy I know, but bear with me as I attempt to explain away my insanity.

Last year was my first full year of attempting any sort of reading challenge and I really enjoyed it. I loved the thrill of trying to arrange my reading list to meet these challenges and discovering books that would count for multiple challenges. Throughout the year, I also liked seeing the progress I made toward the challenges…it made me feel like I was accomplishing meaningful goals in my reading life. Of course all of these things are true and are part of what motivates me to continue on in 2014, but at the end of the day I recognize that I am someone who just really likes lists and challenges. Thus, I am continuing on with the insanity…at least for this year.

My 2014 Reading Challenges:

Challenge #1Back to the Classics Challenge, hosted by Books and Chocolate

classics2014

Requirements to complete the challenge:

1. A 20th Century Classic

2. A 19th Century Classic

3. A Classic by a Woman Author

4. A Classic in Translation

5. A Wartime Classic

6. A Classic by an Author Who Is New To You 

Optional Categories:

1. An American Classic

2. A Classic Mystery, Suspense or Thriller

3. A Historical Fiction Classic.

4. A Classic That’s Been Adapted Into a Movie or TV Series.  

I really enjoyed participating in this challenge in 2013 (even though I was one book short of completing it) and look forward to reading more great classic literature in 2014!

Challenge #2What’s in a Name, hosted by The Worm Hole

challenge_2014whatsinaname1

Requirements to complete this challenge:

1. A reference to time (Eleven Minutes, Before Ever After)

2. A position of royalty (The People’s Queen, The Last Empress, The Curse Of The Pharaoh)

3. A number written in letters (The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, A Tale Of Two Cities)

4. A forename or names (Rebecca, Eleanor & Park, The Unfinished Work Of Elizabeth D.)

5. A type or element of weather (Gone With The Wind, Red Earth Pouring Rain)

I really enjoyed this challenge in 2013, and am looking forward to tackling it in 2014 as well!

Challenge #3Audio Book Challenge, hosted by Teresa’s Reading Corner

Small-2014-Audio-Book-Challenge-Button

To complete this challenge, you must choose your “level” and read/listen to the specified number of Audio Books. I am signing up for Married, or I hope to listen to more than 25 Audio Books.

There are five levels to the challenge

  1. Flirting-Listen to 6 Audio Books
  2. Going Steady- Listen to 12 Audio Books
  3. Lover- Listen to 25 Audio Books
  4. Married-Listen to more than 25 Audio Books
  5. You Define the Relationship- Create your own challenge (choose your own name and level starting as low or going as high as you’d like)

Audio has become one of my favorite ways to enjoy a good book. I’m looking forward to seeing how many I can tackle in 2014!

Challenge #4New Authors Challenge, hosted by Literary Escapism

NewAuthorChallenge14

I am signing up to read books from 25 new authors.

Requirements for completing the challenge:

  1. The authors must be new to you and, preferably from novels.
  2. Pick to read either 15, 25 or 50 new authors. It all depends on how fast you read and how adventurous you want to be.

I enjoyed tracking all of the new authors I read in 2013, and look forward to exploring at least 25 new-to-me writers in 2014!

Challenge #5The Eclectic Reader, hosted by Book’d Out

eclecticchallenge2014_300

Select, read and review a book from each genre listed below during the year for a total of 12 books:

1. Award Winning

2.True Crime (Non Fiction)

3.Romantic Comedy

4.Alternate History Fiction

5. Graphic Novel

6. Cosy Mystery Fiction

7. Gothic Fiction

8. War/Military Fiction

9. Anthology

10. Medical Thriller Fiction

11. Travel (Non Fiction)

12. Published in 2014

I like to think of myself as someone who attempts books outside of their comfort zone, but admittedly there are a few genres in this challenge I’ve never attempted (namely graphic novels). So, I think it will be fun to try some of these–maybe I’ll find a new favorite!

Challenge #6Monthly Keyword Reading Challenge, hosted by Bookmark To Blog

10659233346_7875249736_z

In this challenge I will attempt to read one book each month whose title includes one or more of the key words for that month:

Jan- Angel, Secret, Clock, Black, Day, Wild

Feb- Her, Life, Night, Red, Dark, Island

Mar- Forever, Inside, Storm, Sky, Flower, Stay

Apr- Star, Light, Never, Princess, Break, Clear

May- Dawn, Death, End, Lost, Beautiful, And

Jun- Color, Beyond, Found, Place, Grave, Road

Jul- Crash, Ship, Prince, Whisper, Sun, Of

Aug- Forgotten, Down, True, Run, Danger, Me

Sep- Number, Take, Shadow, Ice, Who, After

Oct- Ocean, Blood, Still, Out, The, Fate

Nov- Into, Sound, Blue, House, My, Last

Dec- Kiss, Fire, Ruin, White, Promise, Infinity

Challenge #7Chunkster Challenge, hosted by Chunkster Reading Challenge

chunkster challenge 2014a

In this challenge, the goal is to read an adult or YA book that is 450 pages or more. I like the idea of this challenge because it encourages you to read longer books. In 2013 I was so focused on trying to read 52 books, that I avoided reading anything that was too long. This year there are no set levels for this challenge, so I will attempt to read 2 chunksters in 2014.

Personal Reading Goals:

In 2013 I read 47 books, so for 2014 I will try to read 35 books. Of these 35 books, I’d like at least 5 to count toward finishing The Big Read List and/or 1001 Books To Read Before You Die. Generally speaking, I want to lower the overall total I’ll attempt to read this year so that I can read a few longer books that I avoided in 2013 (since I was trying to 52 books). Realistically, I’m also going to be very busy this year slogging through graduate school so I don’t want to feel too much pressure to finish these personal goals. Regardless, I’ve set the bar high so it’ll be fun trying to reach it!

***

What are your personal reading goals or challenges for next year?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 04:25:18

    Good luck in school! 🙂 These sound like reasonable goals to me. This year I would like to partake in a few readathons, but I have so much unread on my shelf at the moment that I’m not sure 2014 will be my year for challenges. Enjoy them!

    Reply

  2. wildnightin
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 08:44:28

    Good luck in graduate school! How long’s the course? The Audio Book Challenge looks really good- happy reading and listening this year. 😀

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jan 06, 2014 @ 13:24:49

      Thanks! Unfortunately I’m in it for the long haul with the grad school thing…started in 2010 and hope to be done in 2015. I lowered my overall reading goal because I don’t want it to distract from my real-life professional goals lol

      Reply

  3. Karen K.
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 09:23:04

    Thanks for signing up for the Back to the Classics Challenge! I look forward to reading your posts.

    Reply

  4. Chris Donner
    Jan 04, 2014 @ 13:00:40

    I’m doing TBR, Chunkster, and Check Off Your Reading List at http://61musings.com/2014-reading-challenges/ I’ll be following you to see how you progress. Good luck and have fun!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 17.0 | Ex Libris
  6. Charlie
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 11:13:45

    Hope you enjoy this year’s What’s in a Name, Heather! (And, of course, your other challenges, just especially this one 😉 )

    Reply

  7. joyweesemoll
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 21:49:55

    Good luck! I’ll be joining you for What’s In a Name and the Chunkster Challenge.

    Reply

  8. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 20:06:32

    That is a lot of challenges, thanks for choosing the Eclectic Reader Challenge as oen of them. I look forward to seeing what you choose to read.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: My 2014 Reading Challenges: How did I do? | Ex Libris

Leave a Reply

