Thursday Thoughts 31.0

Happy 2014 everyone! I’m so excited to be getting in a Thursday Thoughts post on a Thursday without it being a monthly recap post. Now if only I can actually stick to this schedule every week in 2014…Ha! It probably won’t happen but a girl can always dream right? 😉

***

[1]

Can I take a minute of your time and talk about how awful the weather has been? I’m sure you are sick of hearing about it, but I wanted to share some images my friend Dana took (since she is way braver than me) of Chicago-land (i.e. “Chiberia”) during the so-called “polar vortex.”  They do an excellent job of showcasing the extremely harsh, but strangely beautiful conditions we have been dealing with:

1531878_10100357207989131_1130622919_n

Photo Credit: Dana

1545893_10100357208473161_386775414_n

Photo Credit: Dana

The past week has been without a doubt the coldest weather I have experienced in my life, and I wouldn’t mind at all if I never did again. The good news is we might hit near 40 F this weekend–it’ll practically feel like summer weather!

[2]

After having a wonderful and relaxing break over the holidays, I’ve been trying to get back in the swing of things at work. I have set some ambitious goals for myself this year, namely getting a manuscript completed soon, and I’m trying to stick to my daily “to-do” list to get things done. Hopefully I can keep at it, and 2014 will be a productive year for me.

[3]

New Years Nail Art:

January

Base/Top Coat: Sally Hansen Flawless

Nail polish: Sally Hansen Midnight in NY, Essie Good as Gold, Essie Silver Bullions

[4]

Last weekend, before the terrible cold moved in, I finally got to meet my sister’s BFF Tanya

1485114_10151900076304091_1002357553_n

I had heard so much about her, and it was awesome to finally meet her. We had a great time talking and ate delicious guacamole and tacos at Mercadito.

[5]

On Sunday we played our first game of Battlestar Galactica. It was a very (very) unlucky game for the humans (of which I was one).

IMG_1185

So many cylon ships attacking us!!!!

Needless to say, we (the humans) didn’t win but I still had a great time.

***

Hope the new year is treating you right!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Jan 09, 2014 @ 16:56:44

    There’s a Battlestar Galactica boardgame? How did I not know this?! It looks like so much fun. 🙂 Your News Year’s nail art is awesome, I wish I had 1/2 your luck with my nail polish, I’m just not that good with it. ‘Chiberia’ certainly looks extreme! I’m glad you’re surviving okay.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jan 13, 2014 @ 13:51:24

      Yes there is!!! And it’s awesome!!! However it is really complicated and is NOT a short game. We’ve played for 6+ hours many a time. LOL I don’t think I’m that talented with the nail polish I’m just really patient. I go slowwwwwwww. Hope you are having a good start to the week!

      Reply

  2. Geoff W
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 09:16:01

    I’m working my way through Battlestar Gallactica. I’ve stalled out after Season 1 but will definitely pick it back up again soon.

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jan 13, 2014 @ 11:56:21

      You should! It’s so good! I got hung up at the beginning of season 4 (o.k. this probably isn’t helping convince you to start watching again) but I’m so glad I finished the series. It was definitely one of those endings that was satisfying…at least to me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

