Thursday Thoughts 32.0: January Recap

Happy Thursday everyone! Can you believe we are already at the end of another month? Neither can I! I liked doing these monthly recap posts last year, and I think I will keep doing them this year. So, here is my January in review:

***

[1]

January was a good month in reading for me–I read six books!

Books read:

1.  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

2.  Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld

3.  The Call of the Wild by Jack London

4. The Club Dumas by Arturo Perez-Reverte

5. White Fang by Jack London

6. The Pact by Jodi Picoult

Books Reviewed:

1. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling

2. The Smartest Guys in the Room: The Amazing Rise and Scandalous Fall of Enron by Bethany McLean and Peter Elkind

3. Frozen in Time by Mitchell Zuckoff

[2]

At the end of last year when it became clear I was not going to make the 1000 mile cardio goal I had set for myself, I decided to try again in 2014. So how am I doing so far?

January

….Not that great apparently. In my defense it was really (really) cold in January, and because of that I worked from home a lot (and thus had less access to the gym). I also caught a cold in the middle of the month…excuses, excuses I know. On the bright side, 41 miles is not the lowest number I’ve recorded in a month or even the second lowest (o.k. by one mile…but WHO’S COUNTING!?!?!) so that’s something! January is a little early to throw in the towel, but I will have to step it up the next few months.

In other fitness related news, I also set myself a goal of completing three strength/resistance training sessions a week this year. I decided to implement this change to my fitness regime because I kept reading all these articles about how muscle burns more calories than fat and speeds up your metabolism, plus I know I’m pretty weak. I’m happy to report that so far this goal is going really well. Although I have yet to actually fit in three strength sessions in a week, I haven’t yet missed a week. I’m also stepping out of my comfort zone and participating in group exercise classes at my gym (just core fitness and the like…I’m still scared of body pump). Thus far, I’m enjoying this addition to my workouts!

[3]

January Nail Art:

January

Base/Top Coat: Sally Hansen Flawless

Nail polish: Sally Hansen Midnight in NY, Essie Good as Gold, Essie Silver Bullions

January2WaterMark

Base/Top Coat: Sally Hansen Flawless

Nail polish: CoverGirl Outlast Vio-Last

Accent Nail: Sally Hansen Hi Ho Silver

[4]

Recipes Posted:

Healthier Chicken Piccata

Cinnamon Apple Muffins

Peanut Butter Cookies

[5]

Fun things I did in January:

1) Finally met my sister’s BFF Tanya

1485114_10151900076304091_1002357553_n

2) Played a game Battlestar Galactica (in which the humans lost very badly)

IMG_1185

3) Endured The Polar Vortex/General Cold (o.k. this one wasn’t fun, but was noteworthy)

1531878_10100357207989131_1130622919_n

Photo Credit: Dana

4) Fun night with friends at Schubas

schlitzwatermark

I didn’t even know they served Schlitz on tap, let alone in these fancy flutes…

***

Hope you had a good week and have a great weekend!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jade @ Bits & Bobs
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 09:08:07

    Will you be doing a review on Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children? I always like to see the thoughts of others on that particular novel as I know it can be a hit or miss – I personally love it!
    Here’s to a Happy February!
    🙂

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jan 31, 2014 @ 11:34:26

      Yes I plan to…whenever I get to it. I’m notoriously slow on getting my reviews up. 😦 But yes, I really liked it! I’m excited to read the sequel! Hope you have a great February as well! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Annie
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 10:21:57

    I’m going to have to try your recipe for Cinnamon Apple Muffins! Good luck with your exercise goals in February, I know you’ll do great!

    Reply

  3. Geoff W
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 10:34:20

    Oh I’ve got Club Dumas on my list to read at some point! And I’m with you I was slow on cardio this month but it was cold here too. I also know I’ll be back to walking/running A LOT in the spring/fall so I’m not too concerned. Good Luck!

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Jan 31, 2014 @ 11:39:03

      LOL I’m banking on a good spring to help recover some of the lost winter miles. I don’t know about where you are, but this winter has been very harsh in the Midwest! Club Dumas was enjoyable and a pretty quick read…I know you would get through it fast. Hope February is a better cardio month for you as well!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

