Thursday Thoughts (on a Friday) 33.0: February Recap

Why hello there! Yes, I am indeed still alive, but the last few weeks have been a disaster (work-wise). Things are sort of returning to a normal-crazy instead of the crazy-crazy I’ve been dealing with so I should be posting more regularly again. But only time will tell if this actually happens. Anyway…I know we are already well into March, but I still want to re-cap my February (and besides it’s my blog and I can do whatever I want 😛 ).

***

[1]

First of all, this:

photo(1)

In addition to all the work-crazy, I slipped on some ice and messed up my wrist and hand. Luckily, nothing was broken and it is “merely” a bone-bruise. I have merely in quotes there because it hurt WAY worse than any other bruise I’ve ever had. Needless to say it really halted progress toward any personal or professional goals for a few weeks which was super frustrating. I’m out of the brace now and on the mend, and overall am VERY grateful that nothing was broken (this time).

[2]

I read three books in February…not my best month but certainly not the worst. I started reading Middlemarch in the middle of the month (which I’m loving by the way), so that has slowed my reading progress considerably.

Books read:

1.  Maya’s Notebook by Isabel Allende

2.  The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

3.  The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein

Books Reviewed:

1. Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman

[3]

As I hinted at above, the wrist injury significantly slowed progress toward my fitness goals, especially since it happened on February 3 (I think I had like a whole 3 miles for the month before that happened). However, as I started to heal I really made a real effort to get to the gym. So, although 43 miles is far from ideal I am still satisfied with this number. Here’s to hoping I hit much higher numbers in March!

February

[4]

February Nail Art:

IMG_1221

Base/Top Coat: Sally Hansen Flawless

Nail Polish: Revlon Cherries in the Snow

Glitter Polish: Revlon Sparkling

[5]

Recipes Posted:

Beef Stew in the Slow Cooker

Cajun Chicken and Rice

[6]

Fun things I did in February:

1) Good times with friends at a karaoke bar

IMG_1225-edited

2) Awesome dinner at Devon Seafood and then concert at the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

IMG_1226-edited

Mmmm scallops!

IMG_1229

3) Celebrated a lovely friend’s birthday (with a really bad picture of me)

IMG_1238-edited

***

Hope you had a good week and have a great weekend!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Geoff W
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 10:35:02

    That sucks about your wrist! From what I remember when I bruised every bone in my knee, it’s basically what they tell you when they can’t find anything wrong but know that it hurts like hell. You’ll get your walking numbers back up especially with spring on the horizon (hopefully).

    The scallops look delicious! What was the CSO performance?

    Reply

    • exlibrisheather
      Mar 13, 2014 @ 16:54:21

      Hopefully spring will come soon! The weather keeps teasing me…50 degrees one day and 15 the next. 😦 We saw Riccardo Muti and Yo-Yo Ma at the CSO. They did two Schubert symphonies and a CSO commissioned piece. It was great–we really enjoyed it!

      Reply

      • Geoff W
        Mar 13, 2014 @ 17:07:03

        Oh I do love Yo-Yo Ma! I try and see him when he’s in Boston (he lives in Cambridge), but I don’t always pay attention to the schedule.

  2. 5eyedbookworm
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 18:57:38

    Sorry to hear about your wrist. Wishing for your full recovery. I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts about Middlemarch and Maya’s Notebook 🙂 Hoping March will be a better reading month.

    Reply

  3. Charlie
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 08:01:50

    Eek, sorry to hear about your wrist! I’m not surprised it’s taken a while for you to get back into things. 3 books is great, especially given that you’re reading Middlemarch!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

