My First Visit To Wrigley Field

Recently, my department purchased tickets for a Chicago Cubs game versus the Atlanta Braves. I love baseball (go Royals!), but am undecided as to how I feel about the Cubs. My feelings for the Braves on the other hand are NOT lukewarm, and I have a intense dislike of the team from hot-lanta. Is it because they beat my team in a hotly contested game? No, and lets be honest the Royals haven’t exactly been a tough team to beat for most of my life (but I still love them). Is it for some other silly reason (i.e. dislike of the mascot, team colors, etc). Nope, none of those things particularly bother me either. So what is it then? Only the most logical reason for disliking something–television.

Did anyone else have this experience in the 1990’s: You return home from a long day of school and turn on TBS expecting to see this

But instead saw this

Yes, that’s right Ted Turner. I haven’t forgotten.

Needless to say, I wasn’t very excited about rooting for either team (although I did end up cheering for the Cubs) so I decided to think of it as a trip to Wrigley Field. Previously, I’d passed by Wrigley dozens of times on the El and have been to Wrigleyville many times, but I’d never actually set foot in the ballpark before. So as you can see, I was pretty excited on the way in:

Once we were in the ballpark, we found our seats and set out to find food and beverages. Wrigley Field does offer a plethora of food and beverage choices, but you’d better save your pennies before coming to the ballpark to make a purchase. For example, this Old Style shown below costs $7.50.

Hand model–the lovely Kayla

Once we made it back to our seats we scoped out the field…

..the Wrigley Rooftop seats, which are located on buildings adjacent to Wrigley Field….

…and the famous ivy-covered outfield wall.

Then the game began. For the first several innings the game was somewhat uneventful. So much so that I asked my friend Bernie to take a picture of me and my friends Elizabeth and Kayla. As he was set to take the picture, the Cubs hit a home run which diverted our attention…

Bernie was (understandably) somewhat upset that he had potentially missed the only Cubs home run of the game. But, being the nice guy that he is he agreed to take another picture of us. As he was set to take the next picture, the Cubs hit ANOTHER home run…

Sorry Bernie! We did finally get it right though:

Thanks in large part to the two home runs that occurred during our photography session, the Cubs won 5-1! After the game, we stopped at El Burrito Mexicano as I mentioned in a previous post. Kayla and I had a delicious burrito and then we all hopped back on the red line to go home.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my first visit to Wrigley Field and I’m glad I got to experience it with great friends!

Leave a comment